5-minute freewrite Day 696 prompt: naked baby

in #freewrite5 years ago

freewrite graphic.jpg

There's something extra-cute about a naked baby. Perhaps it's because they arrive naked, and it seems like the natural way for a baby to look. Naked babies can be hazardous, though; they pee and poop without warning. Then we see all the cute little baby clothes at the store and end up changing their outfits several times a day just because we want them to wear all those clothes at least once before they outgrow them. Or else because the diaper leaked and we had no choice but to change the outfit.

My mother went to nurses training school in the early 1930s. She was only 18, and a very petite person, and she felt very insignificant at the hospital with all those big, important doctors. She thought they were just a step away from being gods, and I'm sure they liked being thought of like that. I remember her telling me she hated working in O.B., because the doctors would get mad if the nurse called them too soon to deliver the baby, and they would also get mad if the nurse called them too late. And babies aren't all that predictable about their arrival time.

I remember my first labor was about 8 hours, which seemed plenty long enough to me, but other people go through 24-36 hours of labor. I don't know how they survive it. Anyway, after lots of nothing happening for a long time, all of a sudden it was almost delivery time and there was a mad scramble to call the midwife, and also the doctor, who lived a lot closer, just in case. And then there was a naked baby for them to catch.

**********************

Thanks to @mariannewest and @freewritehouse for the daily prompts!

Sort:  

Doctors sure liked to act they are gods - some of them still do :)

Naked babies is such a fun prompt to be the encourager for! I'll send you the prompt tomorrow - I'm getting ahead. Anyway, good freewrite!
I think doctors acting like gods has gotten even worse. Informed consent is no longer a thing. Now it's "do as I say or find another doctor."
For my second labor, the midwife wanted to cut and the doctor refused! He sent her back in to deal with the complications and work her butt off, then showed up, triumphant, to catch the baby.

Our bodys are perfect for this miracle of life. Love only love make us survive this process.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm here to deliver the Tuesday prompt so please write us another!

https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-697-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-mystery-books

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63683.34
ETH 2754.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64