5-minute freewrite Day 576 Prompt: Halcyon Days

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

First, I had to look up that word and make sure I knew what it meant! Looking back on my life, I would pinpoint two time periods as my halcyon days. The first period was the summers when I was about 8-10 years old. I can remember playing in the creek that ran by our house, floating boats that were just scraps of wood from Daddy's projects, and chasing crawdads under the rocks. I picked big, juicy blackberries up on the hill behind our house. I invented a 2-room playhouse in a section of of smaller trees on a slope east of the garden, and played with my dolls there. As the youngest, I had fewer chores than the older siblings, and more free time.

bach-10223_640.jpg

image credit

The second period of halcyon days was when all of my children had moved out and my husband was still working. I only got to enjoy 11 months of empty nest, but I loved it. I could wander from one little task to another all day, eventually getting back to where I started. Nobody asked me questions, nobody got in my way, I could think out loud all I wanted to, listen to whatever music I wanted to, eat when I felt like it, and let my mind relax.

Then the kids started moving back home, and then my husband went on a medical leave of absence followed by retirement, and those days will never come again. I didn't know it would only last less than a year, rather than the expected five years.

Sort:  

Well those both sound like wonderful times to me. We have to take advantage of those carefree moments when they come.

I am here to remind to to freewrite again please :)

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-578-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-rote

I love your memories from when you were a child. Sounds like pure bliss!
I enjoy having an empty nest but sometimes I wish I could go back in time and have my kids back living with me.

I know what you mean. I think we just remember the fun times and (mostly) forget the troublesome times!

@scribblingramma I also had to look up halcyon days, great memories of your childhood. I do not like being an empty nester, I guess it is all perspective, I miss my kids.

Mine are close enough to see them often, and one of them never has moved out again.

I know exactly the feelin' , 'cause sometimes i got myself crazy with the homeshores, the kids yellin' and messin' all around XD I need a week of those days you had Hehehehe.

(Aprendiendo inglés, lamento si me equivoqué, no usé traductor :))

Thanks for stopping by! I can understand German and English, but we can manage somehow! Ha ha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44