5- minute freewrite Day 521 prompt: Wild

in #freewrite5 years ago

freewrite graphic.jpg

"He was wild and wooly and full of fleas, and never been curried below the knees." My dad used to sing that snatch of song from time to time. I'm not sure I ever heard the entire song. It's funny how people often remember just part of a song, yet that doesn't stop them from singing it. One of my favorite teachers in high school used to sing, "Howdy do, Zebby Sue, have a biscuit , then have two." I have no idea what the rest of that song might be. My sister and I remember a song that was in the ancient songbook we both used in grade school. We think it was called "The Farmer and His Wife," but we aren't sure. It told the story of a farmer who thought his wife had it easy until they traded places one day and he found out how much work she did at home while he was out in the field. We can remember most of the lyrics, between our two brains, but not all of it. We've never been able to find the rest of the song online, either. It's a good thing I live out in the country, because I often go outside on a nice morning and sing, "It's a beautiful day in the neighborhood!" but never the entire song because I can't remember all the words.

Freewrite over20.jpg

If you've never written a freewrite, find out how by reading the details in @mariannewest's daily prompt and join in the fun!

Sort:  

Hi SG! I just wanted to give you an update in case you didn't know about this. A few weeks ago I nominated this freewrite as my favorite. The weekly favorite freewrites was not posted so Marianne was kind enough to give 1-SBI to all who nominated and to all who were nominated. I am making it sound confusing but the bottom line is that you won 1-SBI share. : )

Oh my! @whatisnew Thanks for letting me know! And that was very kind of you to nominate my little story. March was such a crazy month, and now I've been sick all of April so far. I feel as if I have been truly out of the loop with Steemit. I'm trying to pay attention again now.

My pleasure SG! I am so sorry to hear that you have been sick and I hope you are feeling much better now. Hugs!

I like that one about Zebby Sue. It drives me crazy when I get part of a song stuck in my head for days. : )

One tune that returns to me my mom used to sing was:

Kookaburra sits in the old gum tree
Merry, merry king of the bush is he
Laugh, Kookaburra! Laugh, Kookaburra!
Gay your life must be!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh yes! We used to sing that as a round when I was in grade school!

I have tonnes of those swirling in my head :D
Bits and pieces of songs, and sometimes there are even a word or two missing....

...a beautiful day for a neighbor,
Would you be mine,
Could you be mine?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17