5-minute freewrite Day 497 prompt: in the club

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

I was hoping today's prompt would lend itself to what I wanted to write about anyway, and it does! If all goes as planned, tomorrow I will be in the club of people who go south to escape winter! I am planning to visit my sister at her winter home in Arizona. I will only be gone for six days, but I anticipate it will be just enough to regain hope for spring. Like much of the country, we had an unusually cold and snowy February. This morning's temperature was zero. The high temps while I am gone are only supposed to be in the 20s with lows in the single digits or maybe teens. This is about 20 degrees colder than average for this time of year. I will not be sorry to miss it. Even if it is only in the 50s in Arizona, it will be an improvement! But the forecast is for highs in the 70s and low 80s, which should be a real treat.

desert-392747_640.jpg

image credit

It has been almost 40 years since I visited Arizona, and that was in the northern part of the state. This time I will be in the southern part of the state. I am looking forward to seeing what the landscape is like, and the flora and fauna. My sister has sent some pictures, but it is always different in person. I hope there aren't too many creepy crawlies to look out for! That isn't my favorite part of a warmer climate.

I don't plan to take along my computer, and I hope to keep my cell phone turned off, so I will be posting pictures and stories after I return.

Sort:  

Have fun, travel safely, and return in one piece. Preferably with no creepy-crawly hitchhikers!

Thank you! I will attempt to bring no stowaways back with me.

Enjoy the short trip, nice thing about cold climates is there are not as many creepy crawlies as in the warmer areas.

Quite true. And I will probably get back in time for the next snow storm. Oh well! I will leave my boots in the car at the airport!

Do have a great listener of fun.

Holla!, am here with the weekend freewrite prompt.
...
...
You might like the single prompt https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-3-2-2019-single-prompt-option
...
...
To go pro with us.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-322019-part-1-the-first-sentence-1551501574
...
...
Do have a nice weekend.

Thank you! I am back now, and will get back to writing!

Safe travels and have fun.

And I love the picture😍

Thank you! Now that I am back, I have actually seen those!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63957.85
ETH 2753.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66