Glass Bottle Versus Plastic

in #freewrite5 years ago

49CD13FA-EDEA-40A1-BFA2-3B4238FE6DBF.jpeg



It’s difficult to find food products in glass bottles these days. Plastic is the container the big companies are using for food products.

I try not to buy anything in plastic but sometimes there isn’t a choice. The label may say it’s save but I think plastic is toxic. Plastic water bottles are bought thinking the water is better but is it really when you are drinking out of plastic?

Glass is made of natural materials and no harmful chemicals transfer to your food or drink. There is a warning not to wash plastic bottles in hot water whereas glass is save to wash and reuse. I have a friend who used to put her plastic bottles in the dishwasher and refill them for travelling. This is definitely a no-no.

Years ago glass was used for most liquid products sold in stores.

The above photo Is of two glass bottles from another time period...a cream and a milk bottle. I got them from my parents farm and filled them with sea glass. Sea glass is the broken glass that washes up on the sea shore and has been smoothed by years with the motion of the waves.

...end of write with prompt glass bottle.


Check @mariannewest’s post Here. For more info on #freewrite.

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!!
Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

62F72AF3-8CAF-49AA-A057-B5D75ABB7E69.png



art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics



#thealliance


image

Sort:  

Are you familiar with the pet sign? There is a number in it. It says how many times you are allowed to refill the bottle.
Sometimes it's printed on the label other times in the bottle or lid.
I never knew. The teacher told it to my kid.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good to know Kitty. I haven’t seen it on any water bottles but I don’t buy my water. The well here has good water to drink.

It is on every plastic bottle, soda's too.

I have my own well too. At times it is not great, now there is more iron in it but we still use it.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am with you, Jo. Glass is much better for the environment and also for taste but it does have a tendency to break. Stainless steel is another great option though.

Thanks @prydefoltz. Glass has it’s drawbacks with breaking. Yes, stainless steel is a good alternative.

Hi 2redheadpei, we used to get milk in bottles, it was another time when the milkman delivered them to the houses. Glass would be so much better for the environment... if only.

Yes, it seems plastic is everywhere these days. I guess companies figure it’s cheaper to manufacture plastic bottles than wash and reuse the glass ones.

Howdy redheadpei! I agree, plastic sucks. Do you guys still collect sea glass?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46