5 Minute Freewrite Challenge - APRICOT!

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

apricot-08.jpg

transparent

Don't you just hate it when you discovered something new and enjoyable then real life goes and blindsides you? lol. Now that all the drudgery's done, I'm picking up where I left off from last time I did the freewrite - the APRICOT prompt!

But what is freewriting or the freewriting challenge, you ask? Our Steemit freewrite maven @mariannewest has this to say:

It is the opposite of a well thought out, highly edited, and grammatically correct piece of writing. Freewriting is to set a timer for a certain amount of time and write. Without stopping. Without correcting anything. Without worrying if what we write is good or bad. Nobody cares! 😊

The point of the freewriting session is to get out of our heads and tap into our creative self - allow things to flow. Sometimes, great writing will result. Well, and sometimes - not. The point is to get into a daily (or however often you can) habit of writing.

Without further ado, my 5 mins. starts now...


transparent

apri.jpg

When I first heard about apricots I imagined they would look like a pear or even taste like one. When I finally did get to see one, I thought it looked like a pale apple...and tasted like a crunchier version of the apple too. I began to like it when I learned you can make jam out of it because I'm a big fan of fruit jams. Breakfast isn't complete with a nice dollop of jam on bread. 😋

I also remember back in grade school when I had a 64 color crayon set, apricot was one of my favorite colors. I used it quite often because it was bright and cheery and I like to splash coloring books with the brighter colors from my set. We don't see apricots very often, maybe because I'm in a tropical country? But whenever we do get apricots, I'm usually one of the first to get one. I like their succulent pulp and the rounder crunch you get compared to an apple. I think I heard or read that apricots and apples are cousins.

--BEEP--!

I haven't had lunch yet and now I'm craving for apricots, lol. 😄

Tackling the next prompt on the morrow.

Image Source 1, 2

Sort:  

I see the freewrite has some more advanced writeups now. I think I'll do some more single prompts before I challenge myself to do the ones that make up a story. It's quite exciting!

Yes! You always have the option of the single prompt. But the 3 prompt ones are lots of fun :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62233.47
ETH 2998.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50