15-Min Freewrite Day 2 of 28 Learning about the Steemit Fish Social Class

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

fish-33712_1280.png
Source: https://pixabay.com/en/fish-funny-cartoon-odd-surprised-33712/

I have not posted much here but I have been reading a lot of new concepts. I still have not wrapped my head around Steem and Steem dollars and the calculations. The facts at the Welcome page are all helpful but I needed more explanation. A lot of words too have different meaning here.

We are Fishes? (and some may argue of the plural form)

I find it cute that we are classified as Minnows and the bigger ones as dolphins and whales. I even read some that say people like me are not even minnows. I'm merely a krill or a plankton

Social Class Like Structure

I don't mean to argue but this is just my opinion as a newcomer. Of course, it will change and I'll gain a better understanding. My impression of the structure here is like that of a social class where the minnows are the poor people, dolphins are the middle class and whales are the rich.

This rankings may be good because not everyone can get the same. But what does it mean for us krills? In my observation and readings, it seems that minnows do not have a voice or influence at all. And one whale can hugely impact the entire reward pool.

Like one whale vote may not even be accumulated by hundreds (or maybe thousands - I have not calculated) of minnows and krills.

What if the only influencers are not doing good?

Does majority matter or it's just the few who have the biggest steem power?

Is this place really decentralized with the social class system of huge gaps? Or is the power centered only to a few?

These are just rookie thoughts and questions and hope you can comment.

Sort:  

Hey @queendom, great post! I enjoyed your content. Keep up the good work! It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit! Cheers :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by queendom from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64544.47
ETH 3417.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48