A Hole in the Pocket

in #freewrite6 years ago

fashion-1845712_1920.jpg

My father used to use the expression, “money is burning a hole in your pocket,” to make the case that one of his children had spent the quarter that he had given them too quickly. To be honest, a quarter or 25 cents will not buy a lot in 2018, but was considered a large allowance for a child growing up in the 1960s, and could also purchase a loaf of bread.

I remember that $2.00 worth of gas in the car would allow you to drive for almost a week. Minimum wages were roughly $1.00 per hour and most of my clothes were made at home on the sewing machine. We also had a garden in our backyard and raised chickens for a period of time.

Oh my, how the times have changed and children growing up today, do not have a concept of yesterday when asking for $20.00 as spending change. I guess “money is burning a hole in your pocket,” takes on a new meaning with different generations.

Pixabay Photo


I hope you enjoyed this 5-minute freewrite story that I created using the prompt for this day “burning” created by @mariannewest in the #freewrite writing challenge published here.

IMG_1493pye.jpg
Created in PhotoFunia

Sort:  

They do ask for those 20's like nothing.

I guess we can give them 2 dollar bills. I know a place where I can get a loaf of bread for 2 bucks, but five dollars is more like that.

Visiting from #freewriters community.

I remember taking my 25 cents down to the local grocery store and checking for one of the latest comic books I was reading. Then, they began to up the price five cents here, another there. Within four years they cost 40 cents. I ended up with some odd jobs here and there since my allowance wasn't keeping up with the rate of inflation. :)

Speaking of which. From 25 cents to $20 in a matter of 50-plus years. I think I handed out dollar bills to my two boys 20-odd years ago. Value is burning, I think. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by pyemoney from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61095.28
ETH 2922.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65