The Cycle of Life (Freewrite #23: Gardening)

in #freewrite6 years ago

The Cycle of Life


People are like plants. The gardener witnesses it all - he plants the seeds, see them sprout, grow, reach the skies. Then, they wither and die. Their seed scatter along the fertile soils. New plants grow; offspring.

A gardener does not mourn each plant that withers; or each fruit that he had to sell. Instead, he appreciates the cycle of life - it is vital. Without death, there is no growing, there is no life, and there is no food. He acknowledges that some plants will wither soon. Some in a season, other in a decade. Either way, they all share a similar faith.

We should look at life from a similar lens. We get attached to people, objects and places quite easily. Yes, even the inanimate objects that have never lived. Don't ask my why I still have a soft-toy sleeping next to me every night. I have had it since I went to France when I was eight years old, and it never moved. If I think about it, I do not need it; but having familiar things does bring comfort. In a world full of change, things that stay the same bring us stability. Yet, that is the same reason we should not be attached. It only becomes an illusion to protect us from the the real fear of change; to avoid dealing with the notion of death and loss. We know it will happen to us all, yet we run away from it as if we can somehow escape.

Image Source: Pexels

Today, the prompt is gardening.

Sort:  

peotry by jeremy I am farihelper and my purpose is provide help to new steemian .But now a days i need money that's why i provide resteem and upvote service at very low rate no one can give you this offer at this rate Just sand 0.030 @farihelper i will give you upvote0.040 and also resteem your post .This offer only for 3 days after that i will incease my rate bacause in past i already give this service at 0.100 You are lucky i reach to you ( If you want to learn how to earn 1 to 3 SBD in one day so contact me on skype id : farhannaqvig ) Before closing this offer must avail its very low rate .

I appreciate you trying to help, but I would appreciate if you could remove the spam content. It is: advertisement, spam and copy-paste. It also blocks discussion on my posts, so I would appreciate if you could delete it out of your own will, without me flagging it or anything, as I respect you.

Buddha said the same, we should not cling to a world that always changes, attachment brings pain

The wisdom of Buddha! It is true; there is no use for attachment except as a comfort to avoid negative feelings.

Brilliant, I do remember Yoda saying something very similar to Anakin Skywalker. Maybe that is not a great example. :-D

Seriously, great write. This could raise a brilliant discussion. It is easy to say don't be attached, but losing someone is difficult. At the same time, life is about evolution and looking ahead.

Thank you. Yeah, losing someone is difficult - once we are attached to them and are dependent. Our life is based on depending on a nurturing figure for so many decades in the beginning of our lives. Then, we transfer that dependence onto other people, things or places - and sometimes other metaphysical beings. Being taken care of and having a safety net are always comfort-providing, but they do not last forever.

I appreciate the way you connected the life cycle of plants to that of that our life, attachment would always brings the sorrow . We should adapt the change . Being a biotechnologist I could say that every cell in our body die to give birth to their progeny . That is their cycle they follow in order to make us live . If they don't accept the change then we would have not lived here . Every thing that surrounding us is teaching in some way , we should learn from them . Thanks for sharing your insights :)

Thank you! I'm not too sure what a biotechnologist does, but it definitely sounds interesting. That's an interesting perspective - the role of cells. I do not have much background in biology, yet I do understand that even the death of cells has a role.

Beautiful. <3 I think some people thrive on change and some people thrive on constancy. I have one child who still has his "Sleepyhead" doll from childhood at age 22, but the rest seem to not have gotten attached. He is the one that loves stability and routine.

I think those of us who thrive on change instead of fearing it have our own set of problems though! Never content to just stay in one place and enjoy.

Love the gardening/growing things parallels you found here!

Also, I’m here to deliver the prompt of the day! Freewrite #133 Daily Prompt

@byn

Thank you for your comment :) Well, you see, stability and routine are comfortable. I like them in that aspect. But, I also am never happy to stay in one place. It makes it that much worse. I am terrified of change, yet I seek it, so I go through that much more anxiety of abandoning my safety.

I can understand trying to deal with two sides of the spectrum. I hope you find your own balance that works for you!

I'm hoping with the first couple of big changes that I have planned, my mind gets used to it and no longer feels that anxious about change. I'm not going to let it hold me back :D

This one was very thought-provoking... But so are the majority of what read of yours. That cycle of life continues... I love you all know it is true, somehow you are right we cling to those things that are familiar.
This spoke to me..

Don't ask my why I still have a soft-toy sleeping next to me every night.

I remember a stuffed animal that I carried with me from place to place and always shared place on my bed for many years for much the same reasons.

It's definitely psychologically soothing. When everything is going wrong, my soft toy (of Stitch )is always there for a hug. For someone who may feel abandoned and ignored a lot, it is great to find someone always there to give me attention and never abandon me. Oh boy, this is turning into a therapy session! hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57