You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is a Freewrite? Tell Us Your Take and Win.

in #freewrite7 years ago

More contests! I'm in for this.

At first, a freewrite was difficult - I keep hitting backspace to edit without wanting to. At times, I am unhappy with the work so I let the timer on the app run out and restart (although this was only done first week). What's beautiful about freewrite is that you do not look for the perfect word or for the appropriate name for your characters, it just comes. If it's a weak or weird word, it's what you have to use. Sometimes, I do go + or - 10 seconds, and rarely do I make exceptions to this, unless I really need to add a paragraph to a story I am adoring.

The favourite freewrites are the weekend freewrites as they provide twists that I am not expecting. When you think you have already defined every character and a random Lillian appears. Who is Lillian?! Overall, I took my freewriting experiences (over 30 now) and adapt them into my work - I start with freedom and no inhibition, and I get to edit my poetry/fiction later. No need to get it right the first time. The creativity and engagement can be there just from the first freewriting draft.

Sort:  

2 poetrybyjeremy

You are in the contest!

you have already defined every character and a random Lillian appears. Who is Lillian?!
Love that!! And you really got the spirit. Freewriting is not about being perfect but letting the ideas flow. Editing comes later :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59220.04
ETH 2316.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51