California (5-Minute Freewrite #2)

in #freewrite7 years ago

A Second attempt to freewriting


Yesterday, I posted my first freewrite, and since the feedback was positive, I decided to keep doing it. Today's prompt was somewhat more challenging, but I did not let that stop me. I went on to The Most Dangerous Writing App and wrote until the five minutes were over. I did not read it again; simply fixed the typos that were highlighted. There is no urge to edit or fix any grammatical issues, simply because I do not know if there are any.

California

There is a lot to say about California, especially if you are American. If you are not, like me, you would have to depend on the tales you have heard from far away. What is California? Is it as dreamy as it sounds?

I must confess, I do not know what lies within this promised land. The sun and its heat are something I keep hearing about. Really? Do people love the sun that much? I prefer if my skin was not blistered by the scorching pain of the unbearable sunrays. I live in Malta - an island in the Mediterranean. I know everything about heat. It is not pleasant.

Maybe one needs to suffer a harsh, cold winter covered in sheets of snow to appreciate the sun's gift. I have never seen snow. I hear it is white and soft, almost like a bunny. Except it is not murdered by humans for food. I am pretty sure some people do eat snow; but at least, they do not murder it.

Am I going off on a tangent? It seems to me that I am, but I am not. The tangent is sometimes essential, both in mathematics and in writing. There is a lack of substance without this tangent. The snow is innocent and pure, and yet we disregard that. Humans seek the heat of the sun. Not everyone - clearly, I do not. The heat is not comfortable. There is a limit to the amount of clothes you can remove. When it is cold, there is no limit to the amount you can wear. Although, hypothetically, wearing so many layers of clothes is not that practical. Still, it is more pleasant than peeling off your skin while trying to cool off.


Courtesy of Pexels


Join Die Hard Steemit and Isle of Write on Discord



Join the Steem Poets United on Discord


Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this #freewrite! California is a very unique state because there are many different types of environments. You have congested cities (San Francisco, Los Angeles), beautiful nature (Yosemite National Park, Redwoods, Joshua Tree). There's extreme heat in the summer but also places to ski in the winter (Mammoth mountain). Definitely a place to put on your bucket list to visit one day!


I'd love if you checked out my #freewrite for today's prompt "California"! Let me know what you think in the comments!

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mkkenny13/dailyfreewritechallenge-day-110-california

I only knew about the extreme heat! I didn't know SF was in California (whoops). I did know about LA but, my brain did not think of it at the time haha. It's cool that you can ski there! If I ever visited, it would have to be Autumn (fall) or Winter. I'll go read it now :)

Any time of the year. It’s ALWAYS beautiful in California.

I don’t prefer the snow either, but I do LOVE me some California.

California is probably one of the most liked states (it is a state I suppose) - one that I would have to visit if I travelled to the USA.

Well done. It's quite a job that around the world people know of California. And it's so large, so many people just see a piece, like heat. And Death Valley and, well, actually all the deserts in California know heat. So you may want to visit the mountains. Good luck. Oh, and some day I'll make it to Malta.

Well, it is hard not to know anything about California. Let alone, probably so many Youtubers live there, so people are bound to hear about it. Maybe not directly about the whole state. Death Valley does not sound so welcoming. Probably because it has "Death" in its name.

Your train of thought is delightful. I think I could read your text on and on, no matter how long it was :)
Thank you for sharing this with us 💚

My train-of-thought had no tracks and it was trying hard not to crash into anything! haha - I do appreciate the comment, made me smile this morning.

A Maltese steemian!!!!! Tajjeb! Crazy.. where from? My wife is Maltese ..I was in Qormi one week ago :-D

I'm actually from Qormi! Where are you from?

San Gorg mella! And you? I'm italian.. I lived in Qormi on a fix base till September.. wife still there.

San Bastjan! I see. Well, at least Italy isn't that far away. My boyfriend is currently in Brazil - much harder to visit haha

.. and expensive tickets I guess. Must not be easy at all, wish you the best!

thank you! It's challenging but maybe steemit will make me richer lol

You're an early adopter.. let's enjoy the ride till this stuff becomes another Facebook 😉

Well, I don't need another facebook! My role has to be reversed ;)

I enjoyed it! Glad you came back for a second go! I find these are addictive, even if I don't get to it everyday. I'm excited to see where the next prompt takes you!

Thank you! They are definitely addicting. I might know the beginning but I have no idea where my head is going. It's like I am on a magical journey, and the feedback I have been getting is wonderful too! Can't wait to have some time to read tonight

I am glad you came back and tried it again. And now, as I can see from the comments, you know a lot more about California :)

Thanks again! I definitely do. If I had a bucket list, I would write it down - but I do not live with bucket lists. My wishes change day to day (okay, maybe not that frequently, but still, live in the present).

Nice thoughts on California. As for snow....it's very cold. Fluffy as a bunny, more on the line of feather light, but I prefer not to touch it.
20171231_091221.jpg

snow looks so beautiful and mesmerising!! I want to hug it... but that's not smart

You might try to hug you... Once or twice, but when you feel how cold it is, you may change your mind about trying a second or third time LOL

I'll wear a hazmat suit if needs be!

Haha! Good plan ;)

I agree. I'm not too fond of the heat myself. Not something we have to worry about too much here in Ireland.
It's your roving freewrite encourager here with today's prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-111-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-dream

I totally loved this prompt! It was much more raw and direct

I enjoyed reading this. It's like you're just talking out loud. :D Welcome to the freewrite community!

Yes... especially when I was going off on a tangent. ahaha. There's a beauty in those who manage to write coherent stories; my freewrites are still more like train-of-thoughts.

Yes. I did that for the picture prompt as well. :D You'll never know where your random thoughts will take you. My freewrite ended up in hell. hahah! I had fun though.

As long as you got back from hell - that's fine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49