Almost Kidnapped-5 Minute Freewrite Friday (prompt-dude)

in #freewrite6 years ago

celebration.png
..
Many people face some pretty scary stuff in their lifetime. I also have had my fair share. But I don't think anything comes scarier than almost being kidnapped twice within a two year span. When I was walking home from my very first real job, it was dark and not many cars were around. Nobody offered to give me a ride home, so I had to walk. Not 5 minutes after stepping out the door of where I worked, this car pulled up along the curb. Two guys got out of the passenger side. Just as I stopped, a car came out of nowhere and turned right behind these guys. They jumped back in their car and sped off. I ran, crying all the way home. That was the scariest 10 minutes of my life. My stepdad gave me rides from then on.

Two years prior, this older guy kept driving alongside me as I walked down the sidewalk. I walked near a construction site fence and there happened to be workers there. Some dude saw what was happening and yelled at the driver to leave me alone. The guy saw the fear in my eyes and asked if I was ok. After shaking stopped, I went home. I was a very scared 16 year old.

..
Went over a tiny bit because I wanted to finish the sentence. Not a day goes by that I don't think what could have happened. Being hit wasn't even as scary. I mean, it was because I could have been killed, but at least I wasn't going to wish I were dead from possibly being tortured, or worse.
If any of you have a daughter, granddaughter, girlfriend, wife, or any other females in your life, DO NOT let them walk alone. You never know what danger may come.

Thank you for stopping by. Be safe..

Sort:  

Absolute bastards! I'm so happy that you made it through those experiences and hope that karma caught up to those jerks before they were able to hurt anyone.

My children have to walk home alone from school most days and I've told them time and again to keep an eye on their surroundings and stick close to the other students as much as possible until their paths separate. Each also carries a personal safety alarm keychain. (The school administration told me that they couldn't have those and I told them, mostly politely, where to shove it.) But even with that, I still worry and make them text me when they leave and when they arrive home.

Your prompts are ready!
image via pixabay

Weekend Freewrite 4/21/18 - Single Prompt Option

Weekend Freewrite 4/21/18 - Part 1 - The First Sentence

Keep up to date with everything #freewrite related!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

I hear ya. I def thank my lucky stars. I won't say what else happened in that time frame, but I am very alert to anything around me. Glad to hear you told their school where to shove it. They have no right to tell parents what kids can carry for their protection, unless consists of a gun or knife on school grounds. My son is in HS and I still expect a text when he gets home.

I've got nothing but HUGS for you hon! That you had so much happen and are still such a great person is heartening and I'm happy to have been able to meet you on here!

Reading this comment brought a smile from ear to ear. <3 <3 <3 I am glad to have met you too.

There are plenty of creeps out there! We have to live our lives but its good to be cautious or at least be aware of our surroundings. I'm glad you got out of those situations, scared but safe. Everyone, please stay safe and consider her advice - don't walk alone!

Very true. It worries me when I see little kids even walking alone. Doesn't matter if it is day time or night time, as in both of my close calls. To this day, I am still nervous being out alone, after dark. Had that car not come by when they did, I may not even be here today. It was almost as if they had been watching me, to know when I would be alone. Thank you for the resteem. :-)

I never have liked walking by myself at night. That must have been so scary!!

Indeed it was. I just wish I would get into the habit of carrying my mace, day or night.

Once is bad enough, but 2 times? You sure were lucky. No more walking alone, not even with mace. You can't even trust anyone during the day either. My daughter travels a lot for her job and I hate it for this very reason. You stay safe!

I won't even go shopping when it gets dark. The lighting at the complex sucks and so do the parking lots at the grocery stores. There are some very sick people out there. Even going around the corner to our laundry facility is iffy. I make my boy go with me if it gets dark before it's done.

I won't go out after dark anymore either. Sadly, there are a lot of sicko's out there.

I need a pitbull or doberman lol. Or teach my cat to attack, but he is a scaredy cat.

And I will do my best, as I hope your daughter does too. :-)

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79