Migraine Headaches

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

As a child, up through adulthood, I have suffered severely from migraine headaches. It was many, many years before I discovered what my trigger was...bright light. Once I found out that the vast majority of my migraine headaches were triggered by bright light, I was able to take precautions that limited the frequency in which I suffered them.

There is no way to describe how incredibly torturous a migraine headache is and what length one who suffers from these headaches will go to stop them. I have tried every type of cure known to man and few things would even curb the pain in the slightest. I was fortunate to discover my trigger and I go no where without sunglasses. Others are not as fortunate and they have my prayers with them.

The following is my response to the weekly freewrite challenge hosted on Steemit by the Steemit user@mariannewest. The prompt this week was "headache" and the first thing that came to my tortured memory was my battle with migraine headaches throughout my life.

 

migraine headaches, migraine, freewrite, steemit, pain, writing, author
Image Source Pixabay

Migraine Headaches


Wave after wave of nausea overcame me as the white hot pain seared every nerve ending in my entire being. Pain coursing behind my eyes as I clutched my head with closed fist praying for relief.

Would it come? Would the heavens have mercy on my crippled frame? Screaming out in desperation as I clawed at the skin of my head, digging for a reprieve from the tortures self-inflicted from my nervous system.

The light burned hotter and hotter in the back of my eyes as they bulged from their sockets in agony. Each sound was like that of explosions causing my entire body to retch from the pain.

Ever increasing levels of pain compounding upon each other creating sublime chills to run over my skin. There is nothing so evil as when you body turns on itself. Crunching aspirin into bitter choking powder like a mad dog biting at imaginary fleas.

Death come if you must but I beg and invoke all that is holy for this torment to relent. Acidic refuse spewing from within covering the lavatory as the process eases for a mere moment until it begins to build upon itself again.

 

You may also like my recent article about post-vacation blues found here or my last attempt at the freewrite prompt which produced this poem.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://papacrusher.vornix.blog/2018/08/02/migraine-headaches/


All photos and videos are my own creation unless otherwise noted.

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

MAN CAVE_FINAL.jpg


All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien

Sort:  

I also suffer from debilitating migraines, and light is one of my triggers too so i feel ur pain. I have tried every medication known to man and the only thing that actually works to ease the pain is all natural.. ofcourse with your past profession i dont know if you are willing to try it but it has helped me to not lay in a dark bedroom in complete pain for sometime days on end.. it doesnt always cure it but it does make it so i can i can function on those days.. Marijuana is my best friend because of this.. I have heard some cbd oils work as well if you dont enjoy the buzz, lol, but i enjoy the buzz so its a win win for me! Ha.. anyhow you should consider looking into this as a treatment if it is feasible for u and where u live.. just a thought from a crazy hippie! 😉 no one should have to live with the torture of migraines..

lol actually current profession for a few more years at least.

I have no issue with CBD oil, it has some amazing research as far as the multitude of medical issues it can cure or at least help with. I have never had an issue with recreation marijuana either. I think it should be legalized and regulated similarly to alcohol or tobacco. I probably would still not partake if legalized because I am extremely leery of anything that alters my mood. I don't drink or smoke anymore and I try my best to avoid any type of medication. I have a bit of an addictive personality and tend to take things to the excessive extremes. Probably why I am such a fatty...lol.

I have never had any medicine work for migraines either. I have been very fortunate to not have had one for about 5 plus years or so. As long as I have my trusty sunglasses I am good to go for now. Thanks for coming by and commenting. I always love to see your posts and responses. I wish you were closer so you could make the upcoming steemit meetup in N. Georgia!

Feeling the pain papacrusher, happy to know you’ve found your trigger point. I still wonder why though.

Migraines are so fascinating to me. With all of our technology, we still know almost nothing about how we exist.

Only once have I had a headache so bad that I saw white. Every sound and every pinch of light that came by was torment. It was bad. And to think you had that so often as a child.... Oh your mom must have held your head tightly but so softly and preciously.
Very unfortunate isn't saying much yet how much that you had suffered everyday is unfortunate indeed.
:(

It is rare for me to get even a headache (normally self induced), so it is only possible for me to imagine your hardship by taking my headaches and multiplying them by the hundreds. It is a heavy cross to bare my friend. Thank goodness you at least, now, know your trigger!

Discovering my trigger was absolutely life changing. For the most part, I only get the occasional sinus headache now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66625.78
ETH 3196.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07