You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Torrent: Day 752: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: helmet

in #freewrite5 years ago

It's a new take, and very strong with the biblical references and the missing journalist. Love the list of possible perps (somebody's white haired grandpa...). Callie has the determination to get the job done. How old is she? Must be in her sixties if I'm doing that math right.

What was your Dad angry about? I had an angry father, but he mellowed as he aged. I found out liked him after all.

Sort:  

Thank you!
Our dad mellowed out so much, I was actually taken by surprise when he blew up about my sister's cold case and the way the community "didn't care" (he believes), but some classmates told my sisters their parents instructed them to SAY NOTHING to us because it would only be upsetting if people came around offering condolences. That was our world. These days, communities rally around the family and put up posters and so on, but we were a small population of stoic Germans who believe in suffering silently and alone....How to show someone you care without being "in your face" and re-opening the wounds....?

All we can do is leave the old mindset behind and live our own lives in the now...

Yes, Callie has to be going on sixty, in the story.

"Make myself a target" - that is what I did, but it backfired, and the French journalist said her mother told her to let it go when the threatening phone calls and the computer crash struck. "Keep yourself alive." I never asked that journalist to take up Julie's story; she found it on her own; I'd never heard of her until she started tweeting. Then I started retweeting her tweets and copying them to a Facebook group where I'm confident the culpits are watching. Alas. I never dreamed they find her real name (even I don't know what it is) and go after this small-town journalist in France.
Make myself a target - not others who seek justice!

I was feeling defeated and demoralized, but after my dad's outburst, I felt motivated to keep pressuring Law Enforcement and the public to stop saying "Oh well, we tried," while murderers walk free among us. To what extent must we "put up and shut up," anyway...?

Sorry. And thanks again @owasco for your thoughtful comments!

P.S. You have a story there: in his old age, your father mellowed, and you liked him after all.
I'd read it! even if the real-life details are disguised in fiction.

I am always taken aback by how much of your fiction cleaves closely to your real life.
So this was fairly recent with the journalist in France. I can see how that would open a deep anger in anyone. Whoever did this feels vulnerable, that's the good news. And though you make yourself a target, you never get hit?
Maybe I'll work that mellowing into the Edgar and Elsie story somehow. I'm fixin' to do that story, I really like a lot of it.

Ooh yes, more Edgar and Elsie!
A lot of my fiction is also sheer fiction, or sheer wishful thinking. I am never as competent as my protagonists. :)
I'm still angry about that young journalist forced to shut down her social media (no trivial investment in time and effort) and play it safe.
So I'm off to walk the dogs and cast anger to the wind... sub zero wind chill here. Ugh.
Chill! you bet I will

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59961.00
ETH 3199.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46