Prompt

in #freewrite6 years ago

Her mind was elsewhere.

"You're on!" The stage manager was frantically prompting her to get out there! She'd missed her cue, again. Unfortunately, she had no idea what to do! She stood in the wings and wondered. Nothing looked familiar, nothing seemed like it involved her.

Hm. She wandered out onto the stage and hoped the theater gods would be kind enough to visit her and remind her what on earth she was expected to do out here.

Action in the play stopped. Her cast mates stood there and looked at her. She may as well have been naked out there.

A quick and furtive "psst!" came from the wings behind her. Turning gracefully and with her stage presence on full, she saw the stage manager in the wings, beckoning her to come back!

So she did, gracefully, smartly, and fluidly she returned whence she came. Her stage mates watched her go. The audience was kindly silent.

"I was wrong!" the stage manager told her. Oops! Too bad the SM wasn't the one with egg on her face.


My third freewrite! For @MarianneWest freewrite with the prompt "prompt". This time I typed directly into steempeak, set the timer for 4:45, stopped with 27 seconds left on the timer and spent another 15 seconds proofreading, so 43 seconds proofreading - I can't stand to put something out there that has obvious typos. Hopefully I will make fewer of those as I get more experience with freewrites. Thank you all for your submissions and thank you for reading!

Sort:  

I bet they weren't on the set of Hamilton! 😁

I'm here to shoot you today's prompt 🔫
MomentCam_20190116164449.gif
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-454-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-stem

Posted using Partiko Android

Am already cogitating on it! My first thought was a pair of dogs named Stem and Christie! lol. this is soooo fun.

Ahhh, to be vindicated so swiftly... all that's missing is egg on HIS face. Maybe she can get him to eat crow?
LOL, you explain and apologize for cleaning up typos on a 5-minute freewrite, while I shameless keep writing after the timer goes off, and I come back the next day to fill in plot holes and catch still more typos.
You are so scrupulous, and I'm such a cheat!

I'm actually loving the pressure! Like I don't have enough of that in my life already, but this is the good kind, the productive kind. Your story is great, and I love that you announce you are a cheat, free to be you!
I saw the SM as a woman. Maybe she was betraying me. How trusting I am.

He was wrong...

Posted using Partiko Android

It's interesting that so far the readers have seen the SM as a man, when I saw a woman.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46