Day 542: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: cloud

in #freewrite5 years ago

IMG_20190415_102320404.jpg


This is Patches. I inherited her from my Aunt Jane. Jane was closing in on ninety when Patches came to live with her. Before the ASPCA would let Jane have Patches they called me and asked me if I would take Patches if, you know...

So I got Patches when, you know...

And here she is inconveniently on my keyboard, which is on the kitchen table where the deluge of documents gets dealt with: opened, sorted, grunted at, paid late when they are paid at all (I have learned to ignore most medical bills - a whole lot of them disappear into the clouds - good to know), piled up and eventually filed. Boy have we walked into a trap with all these documents. No new laws!!!

You can see some custom made herbal tinctures in the back there. My son had his saliva tested when he first started having difficulties (it was the vaccines, I know it) and this is the concoction the naturopath/homeopath duo made for him. I just unearthed them; I'm culling my medicinals. I gave a TON of stuff away but I kept these. Maybe they will help him now.

Do all homes have stashes of unused supplements and herbal tinctures?

I do have a desk, a very nice big one. I like working at the kitchen table though, it has lovely light.


This is my entry to @mariannewest freewrite challenge https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-542-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-cloud

Sort:  

Hi @owasco,

Thanks so much for partaking in #dailypetphotography! Please follow @dpet for upcoming events.
Our discord channel is up and running, come on over and say hi, lots of avil pet owners are awaiting you there.
https://discord.gg/GYrnsNm

Beautiful calico cat. It would be great if all the bills disappeared into a cloud. 😂

That would make a nice magical realism story. Thank you for stopping by!

I like the idea of bills disappearing into a cloud... especially the medical ones. We have had so many of those around here that it's not even funny...

Very pretty cat, that Patches!

=^..^=

Patches is an excellent cat. Devious, the way I like them.
My method for medical bills is to ignore them until I get a letter from a real collection agency. You would be amazed how many of them disappear before then. One was for $1400! And it has been gone for four years now. The hospital had gotten a $700 payment (the insurance company's negotiated rate) for the procedure, and my 20% co-pay was 1400, 20% of the retail amount! That made me so mad I decided to take a stand by making the hospital work hard to get paid, and they eventually dropped it. Another was a $2000 charge for medical transport, which also has disappeared. I think if I ignore them, those that were clerical errors get sorted out. I'm certain many people pay medical bills that they do not owe. Challenge Everything! is my motto now.

One of our cats likes to lie on the desk next to my computer and bump into the mouse or the keyboard, and mess things up.

hahaha. Devious, like mine. She gets a lot of loving when she does this, so I guess I have only myself to "blame".

That cat is gorgeous! Stoking my urge to "need" a cat. I've always had cats, been around cats....... until the past few years. Sigh. I miss them.

Medical bills. Ugh. My partner is desperately trying to escape the US and the systems over there, and to be frank, he probably needs a good medical visit. He broke his ankle 7 months ago. Refused to do anything about it because he can't afford to see a doctor. All of his money is going toward immigrating here. Should've told him to go see one and then just ignore their bill, haha. Ugh. Not to mention all of his other aches, pains, and grievances.

Bleh. Medical. 😬😒


A new prompt has been born! Come join us for Day 543

We all have to make terrible choices when it comes to medical - that visit could have cost him $1000. I suggest he try to find a good comfrey tincture, ointment or poultice, and use it liberally on his ankle. That would be more beneficial than anything a doctor would do.
Why don't you have a cat now? I was without for a couple years too. Made me appreciate her even more.
Thanks for the prompt! Already done!

What he really needed was to wrap it tight, and sit down for a good few weeks and rest the damned thing. What did he do? Go back to work, as a labourer. Naturally. Now it'll probably ache for the rest of his life.

Anyway!

CATS!!!!!!!!!!!! :D

We live in a rental that doesn't allow pets unless they're caged or bowled. To be honest, in my experience of pet owning and child rearing, if a rental accepts a family then they should accept a pet. Kids do more damage than pets do.

In Victoria, they were passing a law that made it so anyone could have a pet in any rental. I wonder if that ever went through. If so, they need to bring it to my state as well. Hmmm.

It's not an adopt-a-pet friendly attitude, that's for sure. If you are renting you pretty much can't have a dog or cat.

I had to badly injure a couple critical joints before I learned that you have to stay off of an injury or you will be very sorry later on. Comfrey helps old injuries too though, so it's never too late for lots of comfrey.

!sbi status

Hi @owasco!

  • you have 36 units and 0 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 221558450011 or 0.140 $
  • your next SBI upvote is predicted to be 0.028 $

Structure of your total SBI vote value:

  • 79.75 % has come from your subscription level
  • 0.00 % has come from your bonus units
  • 10.62 % has come from upvoting rewards
  • 9.63 % has come from new account bonus or extra value from pre-automation rewards


    To reduce blockchain clutter, you can also check your status in our Discord server!
    https://discord.gg/VpghTRz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48