Day 511: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: turn signal

in #freewrite6 years ago

Every morning I get stuck at the same turn signal. It's red every single time I come up to it, and I can see that it is red from miles before I get there. I get there, it's still red, and I wait. I sit there and think " I have an appointment with my accountant to do my taxes at 4pm today and I haven't started getting my shit together for that, the bread I keep promising my children I will make is still yeast in a packet and flour in a bag, there is an ant infestation I really must deal with soon or I will be very sorry, I have to choose a scene to work on in acting class tomorrow."

So I sit there at that light and think these things. There are no other cars coming at the intersection, In fact I haven't seen a single car since I started driving all morning. Still, I wait.

I've been waiting eagerly for this moment actually, for this light to turn green. I've been looking up every now and then between the dishes and the bacon to check. "Is it time for my guilty pleasure yet?"

There it is @ mariannewest prompt for the freewrite of the day! Now I can get going on sitting and having nothing in my mind for five minutes except the words splaying themselves over the page, one at a time.

And then maybe I'll get some work done.


This is my entry to
https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-511-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-turn-signal


I'm sorry there is no image - I have stuff to do! Maybe I'll add one later.
Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Crazy when that happens and surprising you never hit it just right. There are a string of three lights just over the bridge and if you hit one red they are all red and if green you are breeezing through them all. Sometimes, I get lucky :)

You nailed it @kimberlylane!
If I'm in no hurry, I get every green light. If I'm running late, I get every possible red light.
Something on the order of Murphy's Law.

What a great line! the bread is still yeast in a packet and flour in a bag - it's still a promise you made your children - love it!

I am so happy you are back in the saddle! I missed you!

Uncle Bruni hates when a light turns red at 3:00am, why are they not just blinking at that hour. Stupid transportation department.

Posted using Partiko Android

Very serious issue you have here.

Am here to deliver the weekend freewrite.

Going single prompt is easy
Just one, write, easy-peasy
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-3-16-2019-single-prompt-option
If you're tempted to go pro
Let's see what you'll write, wrote 😁
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-3-16-2019-part-1-the-first-sentence
...
Do have a nice weekend.

Love that you are waiting for the prompt 👻

Love that you got the metaphor! I don't think anyone else did.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60782.57
ETH 2381.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64