Day 466: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: cookie cutter

in #freewrite6 years ago

I used to have a drawer full of cookie cutters. I once owned a bakery and we would make the most wonderful cookies for holidays. Gingerbread couples of all persuasions were a very big hit at Valentine's Day! We would have to start making these cookies weeks ahead of time to have enough, storing the unbaked cookies in our huge walk-in freezer in the basement. Then all employees would try their hands at decorating the cookies. No two were alike.

We sold that bakery as much as I loved it, because it got too difficult to celebrate holidays with our three children we were so busy providing food for others to celebrate theirs. Off to the suburbs we went!

There the children are cookie cutter children. All art looks exactly the same, all children memorize the same facts. But my kids had something that set them apart - their mom had a drawer full of cookie cutters!

We made cookies for projects, cookies for bake sales, cookies for presents and cookies just for fun.

Now that my children are grown and no longer interested in making cookies, my cookie cutters are in a box in my basement. I can not let them go.


True story! Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57156.19
ETH 2431.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41