Weekend Freewrite: Princess EviesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

CatnipDream.JPG
Catnip Dreamin'


There were 17 cats living in Larry's basement. I'm not sure Larry even knows that. Most days he's too busy(drunk) to come down here. We don't really need him, though. Not with a leader like me. Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Evie Graycat. And I'm in charge of this clowder.

How does a simple, domestic short-hair become the leader of 16 other cats? Through an election, of course. Well, sort of. There's a lot of hissing, some growling, and the occasional hairball. Your elections are probably very different.

Given the situation, everything is the cat's meow. I make sure there is plenty of food and water; and, there is never a lack of companionship.

Speaking of which, when I saw Snook on Tuesday, she asked me the most peculiar question.

"What'll we do if we run out of food?"

Gotta love Snook. She's so sensible. That's why I made her my adviser. But, this is no arbitrary cat you're dealing with.

"Snook, Snook. I've already planned for that. The basement door is never locked. The 17 of us will form a giant ball of claws and fury and break through the door. Once through, we kill Larry and eat him. We'd probably be doing him a favor."

"You are so wise, Evie The Grey. Thank MeowMix you're our leader."

"Yes, thank MeowMix, indeed. Now go finish up that catnip report."

Of course, what I didn't tell her...what I haven't told anyone...is that that day might come sooner than expected. Why? Well, let's just say I put my trust in the wrong cat. Herb. I should have known. I mean, who names their cat Herb? I told him to defrost the fridge in preparation for a shipment of chickens. And, do you know the way Herb defrosted the refrigerator? By chewing through the power cord. I know. He's got to be down to his last couple of lives.

If Larry doesn't check on us soon, I'll have to assemble the Feline Counsel and begin preparations on...


[Times up. Which is fitting. At any point during this dream, a noise could have woken my cat up. That's right. At a certain point I realized I was writing what my cat dreams about. I really like these multi-prompt freewrites.]

LogoStrip - Copy.JPG

Thank you to @MarianneWest for hosting these DAILY freewrites!
Link to First Prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-4-the-first-sentence
Photo by: @Omra-Sky

Sort:  

I LOVE that I'm the adviser :D

I'm STILL laughing!!!!!!!!

YOU did Great! I think the 3 prompt challenges are getting to be my favorite of the #freewrites now

and I love your new GIF!!

I'm glad you like it. 😺

That second prompt induced another mini panic attack. But it is fun.

Ohhhhh it was the last prompt for me! I swear my eyes crossed when I read it! LOLL

Haha! Those two are going to LOVE this! Cute story and it's nice see to the photo of Evie again!

Thanks. I had fun writing this.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @omra-sky to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Cats respond most readily to names that end in an \ee\" sound."""

On average, cats spend 2/3 of every day sleeping. That means a nine-year-old cat has been awake for only three years of its life.

Cats' eyes shine in the dark because of the tapetum, a reflective layer in the eye, which acts like a mirror.

hmmmmmmmm really?

Every year, nearly four million cats are eaten in Asia.

OOOOOOOooooooooooo that's a tad depressing

Cats don’t have sweat glands over their bodies like humans do. Instead, they sweat only through their paws.

There are approximately 60,000 hairs per square inch on the back of a cat and about 120,000 per square inch on its underside.

did you ever wonder who counted all that hair and maybe they cheated after ........say.........39,521? and just rounded up a bit?

Cats spend nearly 1/3 of their waking hours cleaning themselves.

I think that goes into the *gross category.

get it? category!

How do you get the job of counting the hairs on the underside? What's the pay like?

During the time of the Spanish Inquisition, Pope Innocent VIII condemned cats as evil and thousands of cats were burned. Unfortunately, the widespread killing of cats led to an explosion of the rat population, which exacerbated the effects of the Black Death.

Is that where ratatouille came from?

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

The little tufts of hair in a cat’s ear that help keep out dirt direct sounds into the ear, and insulate the ears are called “ear furnishings.”

@alchemage has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Cats don’t have sweat glands over their bodies like humans do. Instead, they sweat only through their paws.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45