You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 145: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: deodorize

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

No one is to click on any links in any comments on steemit, regardless of what they say or what the link looks like. No short links, no nothing. Massive phishing attack in progress right now. Spread the message, please.

So, no prompt deliveries? What about the links in these comments? I'm assuming this is just for accounts you don't recognize?

Sort:  

This was my concern last week! It is a bit sketchy having to click on links at this point. I'm afraid I'll miss something and end up hacked/scammed in some way. I'm trying to pay more attention, but last week, even trying to login to busy.org kind of made me hesitate.

Yes, I feel like these warning should come with a little more detail than just "don't click any links." I still don't know how clicking a link will steal your passwords. I feel like there are more steps to it. A program has to be downloaded by you or you have to freely give your passwords.

The scam I saw last week directed people to steemil.com(purposely spelled wrong). I'm sure the site looks exactly like steemit. When you log in, then they have your password.

I don't know exactly - just passing on what I see in warnings on discord. I know that a bunch of people got hacked. So, making sure the link takes you where you want to go. Don't understand hacking at all, but can't you get trapped by just clicking on a link - I know you can get a virus that way....

Yeah, I know it's not just clicking on a link, I just ALSO know that I can be so scattered/distracted, especially when I'm doing link delivery and going through a TON of posts/links a day... and that's exactly how people get caught in things like this, being distracted. I am hoping that just having this in mind will help me stay cognizant of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64320.49
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54