You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Editing Our Own Fiction - "How To" Books - How Not be a DNF

in #freewrite5 years ago

I was watching a college writing class video by Branden Sanderson (one of my favorite authors), and he said something to the rough effect of 'I have a friend that I have help read and edit all my first drafts. That's all he's ever seen of my work. One day he actually read one of my finished, published works. After, he told me 'I forgot you're actually a really good writer!'"

So, first drafts are known to be terrible and ugly. It's a given. Maybe by draft 7 you're starting to see the shape of what you intended. Definitely don't give up! Find the gold in your draft, cut out the dirt, and make something you're happy with!

Sort:  

Awwww, thank you -- you've delivered just the message I needed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60147.86
ETH 2985.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83