You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CRACKER [5MinuteFreeWrite]

in #freewrite6 years ago

Great to see the mighty @jedau returning to the world of fiction. It was a great story. With a whizz-bang ending too.

A lot of personality coming through for your characters in such a brief piece. That's not easy, but it made it a delight to read.

Sort:  

It has been awhile, hasn't it? I didn't realize my writer's block stretched for far too long. This one took exactly 5 minutes to make, so I'm glad that it was at least coherent. Glad to be back! I felt like I have a chip on my shoulder taken out, and now I'm gushing.

Oh you know how much I love them characters, mate. I had them fully fleshed out before I started the timer that's why they felt so realized haha! Thanks for the high praise! Coming from a writer I admire greatly, that really means a lot!

BTW, did you see the Super Blue Blood Moon?

Didn't see it, but heard about it. Such a rare occurrence, but I tend to miss these things. To busy with my head stuck in a book, or writing probably.

makes sense to have a framework in which to operate, such as defined characters. Then let the story take your free write energy and time. Great planning, great result.

I've always been way too fascinated with the cosmos, that's why I'm up to date with these things. I'm surprised that I have yet to write a space-based story haha!

I'm glad it translated well! Whew! What a relief! I was quite nervous getting back to it after so long, especially since writing stories is far from riding a bike.

Speaking of Space based stories, I did write once, for Nano 2016. Just pulled that manuscript out and am nor finally giving it a fresh read in readiness for a second draft. Want to get a new feel for the overall piece, then decide whether to go slightly darker , or what way to take it.

In the meantime you'll have to catch up with the space stories.

I do have a lot of drafts in my notes, but I haven't gotten the time to fully revisit any of them. They're coming though, oh they're coming. Definitely excited to read your epic space opera! Nano 2017 was the one with the space-theme in their own page though haha!

I din't even look at Nano in 2017. I wasn't feeling very energetic around that time. So much better now, fortunately.

Revisiting a full novel for redraft is a time consuming endeavour, so not sure how long it will take. But I've been talking about it for so long that I wanted to take some action to break the impasse.

Tell me about it. I think I've spent more time editing than writing a novel. I'm still reworking my debut novel and it seems so far away from finished!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45