Why I bought this hunk of wood

in #freewrite6 years ago

IMG_4024.JPG

Took my routine trip to G.W. Industries yesterday. Commonly know as Good Will. I frequent enough to earn rewards. Yesterday I got $5 off my thrift store items. Also, yesterday, anything with a pink price tag was half off. I selected three of those. No, I am not cheap, just practical.

That has nothing to do with the 'jar', as I've decided to call it. Here is how my mind works. Or doesn't.

I spotted this. OMG it looks just like my mom's faithful footstool!!! With bottle neck on top. Mom was short. Someone took old hunks of wood, made her a footstool, varnished it....she hauled it from Ohio to Texas. From Texas to Oregon. From Oregon to Indiana. From Indiana to Wisconsin. From Wisconsin back to Ohio. It has frequent moving miles to match the number of times stepped on. My sister and I played sith it, each Grandchild and Great-grandchild played on it, fell off it, stubbed their toes and got in trouble for try to climb on it. My dad called it that hunk of wood. I had to have my own hunk of wood.

This morning though, I figured it out. I actually bought it to fit right here.....I believe it blends in well.

IMG_4032.JPG

Impulse, nostalgia or supreme taste in decor? Don't know but that us how my mind works. Or doesn't.

IMG_4028.JPG

IMG_4030.JPG

IMG_4027.JPG

Sort:  

You saved the best part till last... the final shot with the cracks and the knothole, that's very cool. I liked it! :)

Thank you! $3.99. Not on sale. Lol.

It will be valuable folk art some day. Years from now.

Great looking hunk of wood! Cute story about your mom.

It has 'a look' about it. Lol

Mom used that stool even after her stroke. Then the Great-Grandchildren scolded her.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00