Weekend Freewrite - 02/10/2018 (Single Prompt) "Round is a shape"

in #freewrite6 years ago


I was slaving over the oven for hours!!
My mother came into the kitchen later in the afternoon to look at the wonder cake I had created. I was baking a birthday cake for a very special friend and it had to be just right.
"What is with this?"
"Dpn't you love it? Look at the colours! I created it and iced it all myself! It is all my work!!"
"Ah - do you realise it looks rather wonky!!"
"It's meant to be working at different angles!
She sighed - as she often does at many of my cooking or different attempts.
"It's not even round!"
"Round is a shape, but only a shape! This cake is 3 dimensional! You just have to open your mind!!"
She sighed again and turned around - I could see her walking away. Suddenly - this was not the wonderful cake I thought I had created.
The very special friend was her...

Sort:  

Ahhh sometimes people don't realize the affect of words. This was a very good freewrite with a lesson.

Thank you! I didn't mean to do a lesson - I just visualized a cake tin when I saw the title and as the seconds ticked by it formed from that...

Oh, so disappointing! I hope she liked it anyway....

It's such a letdown when something we're proud of receives criticism from the one we were most looking forward to showing it to. It takes the wind right out of your sails..

Should this prompt hit your head I do apologize, it's difficult to aim while flying through the skies!

Freewrite Day 115 - Mason Jar

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62996.86
ETH 3452.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49