Freewrite Day 134 - That Plaid Shirt!

in #freewrite6 years ago

Source: http://ellawilliams.deviantart.com

He looked at the shirt he had to wear:
" No - I'm not wearing it! Nonono!!"
" Come on. It's just for a family party and it won't be for long. Your Grandfather bought it for you and it'll make him feel good to see it on you."
The young boy had become a teenager. Very particular about his clothes and his hair. There is no way on this Earth that he was going to have any one see him looking like a bogan!!
"My cousins will see me wearing this. They'll laugh"
"i'll bet that they've all been given one exactly the same to wear."
Justin looked at the shirt. Maybe if he left it open and wore his cool Adidas tshirt underneath and wore his Nikes; he might just get away with it. Just roll the sleeves back. Hmm - maybe it could work.
"Okay, but only if I can wear it how I want."
"Just don't wrap it around your head please."
Huh - typical Mum. Maybe this party wasn't going to be so totally bad after all...

Sort:  

Really I used to feel the same for the family costumes , rather I call it a uniform for all my fellow cousins ( all are plaids ). I enjoyed your freewrite since it made me nostalgic .

Oooh - pure empathy from me!! Still, now that we're years past it we can look back and laugh...

HA! I miss those days of making my son dress up for family Holidays and all the rules that we would go over on behavior :D

Thank you for bringing back fun and funny memories!!!

Oh @snook - you cruel woman! Haha, I'm the pot calling the kettle black! I've dressed my little son in outfits and taken photos that he will have to live with later in life! Did I love it? Yeah (hahaha) ;-) It's all good fun!

I learned a new word! I had to look up bogan. I can just see the boys angst putting on this grandpa's shirt. Nice freewrite.

Haha - the word "bogan" is an Aussie term. I don't think it's in the dictionary . It's basically someone who looks and brings across as lousy (no motivation etc.) The sort of dude that doesn't want to leave the pub. No self-conscious kid wants to look like one :-)

Yes, I was able to find that on the web! Thanks for the definition from a native standpoint!

I had similar experiences growing up. My mom always warned me about googling strange words. But I looked up "bogan" anyways. 😁


I'm being followed by a gang of suspicious looking squirrels. I think they're trying to steal today's prompts. Allow me to deliver them while I still can...

Weekend Freewrite Single Option!

Weekend Freewrite - Part 1 - The First Sentence!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64781.14
ETH 3119.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53