Freewrite Day 132 - With Mum's healping hand

in #freewrite6 years ago


Source: http://coloringpages101.com

She was bent down over the soil
Her son was bored. He'd played with his trucks, he'd played with the basketball. Now he wanted to do something else but didn't know what.
"Mum - can we go to the shopping Mall?"
"Not now. What do you need?
"I don't know. It's ok..."
He came over to her, was about to grab her, grab her and lead her away so she could set something up and maybe play with him for awhile. As he watched what she was doing - it all became a curiosity.
"What are you doing?"
"Planting those small cuttings the lady next door gave me."
He watched. "Looks like work to me!"
"Is that so bad Jeremy? You realize you can make anything fun if you just look at it the right way. For me at the moment- I am playing! I'm having the time of my life. Here, you give it a go."
She gave him one of the small cuttings to plant in the soil. "Just add fertilizer around it and mulch at the top."
They worked on the rest of the cuttings together.
"Do I get extra pocket money for this?"
"Ahh no! But once we clean up, maybe I will take you to the Mall"

Sort:  

It's a full time job playing with the kids sometimes, they crave our attention so much, and then there is so much to do.. Parenting is great, but also challenging.. Great post

You're definitely not wrong about parenting being challenging! Thanks for reading and the upvote :)

Not a bother.. Ya parenting can be tough, but it's all worth it when you see their smiling little faces hanging on your every word... Not looking forward to the teenager phase when they think I'm a plank!!

What a realistic and spontaneous scene you took to life.. It's truly authentic, I loved it 😄

Thanks. If my son hasn't grabbed my hand once to pull me away from gardening - he's done it a million times lol. Occasionally he sticks his hands in the soil and I like those moments the best!!

Awesome freewrite! I love the way you paint the picture, great job!

Thanks a lot. Some of our freewrites are pure fiction, but this one is a bit personal for me. So I appreciate this!

Ahhhh... kids! Parenting is in the small things, what a wonderful lesson to teach him :) My kids loved gardening with their dad.

Great freewrite

Also, I’m here to deliver the prompt of the day! Freewrite #133 Daily Prompt

@byn

gardening and kids - double fun :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60140.74
ETH 2559.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54