Freewrite Day 122 - The Spa Party

in #freewrite7 years ago

Her daughter gave her the address and it only took about 10 minutes to get over there...
"Will any of the other parents be there?
"No - but Rebecca's Mum will be there. You can just drop me off.
I don't think so - I'll be going in to have a talk to her first...
Her daughter looked at her with disgust - "The other Mothers don't need to do that! It's not necessary!! Here's her Mum's phone Number - you can call her.
Stacey was tempted to do that, but decided on the former.
"Tough cookies - I'm coming in!
They got out of the car and went into the house
Inside - the whole house had been turned into a large pink beauty salon
"What sort of Party is this?
It's a spa Party.
"A Spa Party? Mel - you're only 8 years old!! This is stupid. You never told me this!
"I knew you would overreact!! Just come and speak to Rebecca's Mum!
The older lady was having a manicure. "Darling - it's all the rage! The girls love it!
She looked at her daughter - yes: she was wearing some makeup. Her clothes are also sexy. What has happened to her baby girl??

Sort:  

Kids do grow up too fast... Or at least the technology and fashion around them.

Very true - it's hard to keep up with them or what's happening around them!!

There seems to be a lot of pressure these days to sexualize children early in life, especially girls. I'm afraid that I'm old school and old-fashioned, if I had a daughter she would probably either hate me or cling to me as her protector. 🤔

You're right that there is a lot of pressure - it's up to us to keep an eye on them and it gets harder all the time!

Oh no!! Not with 8 already....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60898.61
ETH 2626.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61