Day 81: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: I floss my tears

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

I stand here clothed
Yet as naked and bare
Dwindling down the spiral of doubt
Like a falling star escaping into despair
I ask myself questions that
I refuse to answer
I deny myself the truth
And immerse my fate in laughter
Sitting in silence
Listening to the surrounding nothing
The walls cave in
While I floss my tears
I go to my friends for hope
But all I get are fake cheers
I get overwhelmed in loneliness
As I converse among friends
Seeking for a shred of proof
As my seclusion begins
I drink among strangers
To achieve a certain high
I have destroyed myself with anger
And that’s the end of me...bye!

If you liked what I wrote, please read some of my other stuff and comment.

Thanks!

This prompt was from @mariannewest

DSC_0218.JPG

Sort:  

It's like a song… I can hear it! :D
Well done! It's interesting how we had a completely different take on the prompt…

Thank you, I think for some reason I always have a melody in the back of my head and then I write to the tune of it. Now if I only knew how to compose, I'd make a record. If only, any suggestions?

You turned this into a poem that absolutely touches the reader. If you like help and feedback for your work, please join the Isle of Write - the discord I mention in every prompt. There, beside the freewriter room, you also find a poetry space.
Many there are experienced writers and are happy to give feedback.

Thank you so much. I am humbled truly. Thank you for the prompt inspirations, it has proven to be very conducive to getting my poetic fluids going. I'll check out the Isle of Write. Thanks again.

I go to my friends for hope
But all I get are fake cheers

I can empathise with this and many other passages. You're talented and sensitive. Keep up the excellent freewriting !

Thank you, It is much appreciated. Today has been one of those days and thanks to Steemit, it works as a type of Therapy. I am hooked. I think its the duality in us all, the never ending battle of self.

Writing is always cathartic and a good therapy.. way cheaper than a session and with steemit you even gain ..what more? 😉 Self.. we should forget a bit about It sometimes..

Very true indeed, easy on the pocket and I feel that we gain more.

Beautiful! I think most have been there before.

Thank you, sometimes I feel like these places are more and more frequent than I would like.

I understand... Sometimes its hard to see the beauty in life with the weight of our emotions bearing down on our shoulders. I wish you peace! :)

Thank you, I too wish you peace.

Wow. This hit close to home.

I'm glad that you were able to relate, I feel like a part of us all relates to this to an extent.

I agree with @wido, this is like a song! Very nice freewrite.

Thanks, any musicians here that want to make it a song?

I think it could work well as a rap; it flows really well. Unfortunately I have no talents in that arena!

Here's the link for freewrite 82:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-82-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-stetson

I say we find someone that would be willing to rap it. hah. @alao any suggestions?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54096.18
ETH 2412.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.10