Free Write weekend prompt Run for your life

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite weekend prompt Run for your life by @mariannewest

I had three older brothers, the one that was two years older than me was always doing something mean to me but I loved him anyway. One time I was swimming by Dads dock and he was on shore, he had a gig with four prongs and he yells, Cissy catch this and the gig is flying through the air right to me. It hit me in the leg. My leg was bent and two of the prongs went into my shin and another in my thigh and the fourth prong was between my shin and thigh. I could not swim because I could not straighten my leg, I drifted with the tide with the gig stuck in me. One of my older brothers friend jumped off the dock into a boat that I was drifting toward and scooped me up. He pulled the gig out of my leg. I still have the scars. I was eight years old.

Another time he had some friends with him and thought it would be fun to show them how long he could hold me under the water. There were times I thought I was going to die. Every time I tried to run away he would catch me and hold me under longer.

In the late sixties, they built a bridge over the Inlet and he decided that we should jump off it. I do not know why I thought this was a good plan but I was all for it. He jumped first and I got scared when I saw how high it was, I think it is 60 feet. He is yelling at me to jump and I was not going to do it and started running to get off the bridge, by this time he is onshore and is yelling that if I did not jump he was going to throw me off it. I was no longer over the water but still running to get off when he made it back up the bridge and is running towards me saying he was going to throw me off. All I could think is he is going to throw me off over land so I turned and started running for my life until I got back over water. Just before he got to me I jumped. I landed in the sitting position, my legs hurt so bad that it took all I had to swim to shore.

Sort:  

oh... my.. goodness.

I think you probably had lots of nightmares! i don't know what a gig is but that sounds incredibly painful!!!

so sorry you had these experiences as a child! i hope your brother has calmed down as he grew older and doesn't scare you or hurt you anymore!!!

@dreemsteem My brother passed away in 1979. I do not know why but I never held him accountable for the things he did, A gig is like a spear but with more prongs sort of like a big fork on a long pole, but sharp with barbs.

im so very sorry for this. :(

and being held under the water until you thought you would die? what a terrifying experience.

I'm glad you were able to forgive him. It shows you have a merciful heart. I hope that he wasnt able to do this to any other children.

Thank you for your kind words. I have been away for a week, sorry it took so long to reply

That sounds very painful.

Posted using Partiko Android

Eh... your brother needs professional help... :|

@blacklux he has passed away, I guess he picked on me because I always wanted to follow him around and it was big brother picking on little sister.

Your brother sounds mean. Your parents never knew how he was or asked you how or what?

Posted using Partiko Android

I do not think I ever told them, being afraid he would do something else to me. I did tell Dad he threw the gig, and Dad punished him.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44