Free Write Wednesday prompt Poverty

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Wednesday prompt Poverty by @mariannewest

When our kids were young and the time raising them, I am sure we were at the poverty level. Luckily we were renting our home from my Mother and Step-Father, we always paid but they would let us slide until we had the money, this did not happen a lot but it did happen several times. We would have qualified for food stamps and a check but we did not want to do that. We always had fishing and could put food on the table.

The fish house would buy our nets and take a small amount out of our check each week. If we were having trouble paying the light bill or something like that, the fish house would give us an advance, even if we did not have any fish weighed up at the time. They got us through some hard times and I will always appreciate their kindness.

Even though those were hard times I would not change anything. For today through hard work and nothing else we have paid off our home, we own our trucks and boats. We have never had a credit card and do not want one if we can not save up the money for something we do not get it. We don't have much but what we do have is ours. So poverty, nope not us. We are so rich because we have no debt. We pay our household bills, put food on the table and have each other.

Sort:  

Looking back, I suppose my family-of-origin qualifed as a poverty-level family. My parents never got food stamps, either, and we always got by, but sometimes there just wasn't any extra money at all, and barely enough to manage. I am grateful that I have not had to go through that as an adult...at least not yet. As a child, I just accepted the way things were and didn't worry about it.

Same here. We certainly could have gotten food stamps and such but I never wanted to do that. And I believe in saving first and then getting it for sure!

Although there are different cultures and beliefs worlds, the life system in some cases are so similar, we were a large and very poor family too, maybe at some point I will also tell you mine.

@truelovemom I look forward to reading your posts.

Oh thanks, I like nature and writing, right now I am taking my first steps in photography.

You have a rich and full life @myjob. My parents went through hard times and there were days when food on the table was scarce but they never asked for any handouts.

@redheadpei I totally understand why your parents did not want handouts. Even though it would have been nice to buy things we needed, it was not in us to ask for something we did not earn.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68625.09
ETH 3746.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76