Free Write Wednesday prompt Chapter

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Wednesday prompt Chapter by @mariannewest

Man O Man what a day today was. I had my little boat loaded with 35 pigfish traps and set off to find the bait. I went south and put six traps where my husband baited last year and I put four where I baited last year, these were just test traps to see if anything was there. Then I went north and put five where I caught bait two seasons ago. Next, I put ten North of the crab house, it use to be a crab processing plant, but now it is Arlo Guthrie's house. Then I took ten and put south of Cat Island. While they sat I ran a friend's traps. He caught good bait yesterday and told me to run his traps today. I got 180 pigfish for me and 90 for my husband out of them. So maybe the chapter of no bait is over.

After running his traps, I decided to run all of mine and move them north of his traps. I picked up the traps that were south of Cat Island, the offshore traps did not have anything in them but inshore had good pigfish, I put the offshore ones in the boat and rebaited the inshore traps. while spinning a circle I slipped and somehow when I grabbed the throttle it sped up doing circles so tight it almost threw me out and water was coming over the corner of the stern, I was hanging on and trying to get to the throttle to slow it down, it was hairy scary for a bit.

I ran the traps north of the crab house and had good bait in them, again the offshore did not catch, so I made short lines inshore. I picked up the five traps where I caught the bait 2 years ago and had 1 pigfish out of four traps and the last one had ten, so I put the four around it. While throwing a trap over my PVC pipe that I use on my tiller handle went overboard, a rope wrapped around it when I threw the trap. rrrrrrr I was pissed!!! Out of the 25 traps that I ran I got 70 bait so I think I found good bait.

I put my bait away and moved my boat to put my husbands bait in his pen, I ended up getting 160 for him. When I finished putting his bait away I untied my bowline and when I did the wind spun my boat so the stern was under the dock. No problem except it was right where the outflow from the clam upwellers pours into the river. My boat was filling up with water VERY FAST. I tried to untie the stern but it cinched my knot down tight. I had to get my boat pulled back up to the dock and retie the bowline and turn my pump on, I was just inches of going down. It took some doing but I finally got the stern line untied and the boat pumped out. Off to the ramp and got it pulled out before anything else could happen. Todays chapter is done.

IMG_20190529_135516.jpg

This is why my boat almost sank.

Sort:  

Thank goodness for that! Three hair-raising adventures AND a lot got done. You must be some fierce fish yourself, no tart.

@owasco It was one of "them" days but I found bait and that makes it all good. I have only sunk one boat and today I almost sunk 2 times. I have never been called a fierce fish, I like that name. lol

Hello...!!! :D
@myjob
Wow... and yikes!!! Your days are never dull fishing and sometimes dangerous..!!
😯😟😥
I am most truly glad your ok ❤!!!!!!!!!!
and your boat.

@annephilbrick thank you, I am not afraid to admit I was scared I was about to sink both times. When I was spinning full throttle I thought I was going over but somehow held on. Tomorrow will be a better day, no scary crap, I hope. Shit can happen in a blink of an eye.

That was a scary episode @myjob. Glad you were okay. There was a fatal accident here on a lobster boat. A father and 22 yr. old son were on the boat hauling in the traps. The father was driving. He turned around and the son was missing. It’s still not known how he got thrown overboard but it can happen easily. The sea was very rough that day and the water cold. His body still hasn’t been found.

@redheadpei My prayers for the young man's family. Things can happen in the blink of an eye. Years ago I lost a friend at sea, they were anchored way offshore and no one knows how he fell overboard It was at night and one of the crew heard his scream and threw a buoy to him, they were in the gulf stream where the tide runs fast, The captain cut the anchor line and went for the buoy but he was gone. They think a shark got him because the sharks will lay under their boat at night when they gut the fish. He had a wife and a 2-year-old son.

It’s so sad especially leaving small children. 😢 It seems every year there is a tragedy connected to the lobster fishing. Last year a captain set his boat on cruise while working onboard and hit another lobster boat that had a couple tourists on it. One man was killed in front of his daughter.
Each time there is a tragedy the rules tighten up to make sure each boat does not carry anyone except the crew, is equipped with a horn, etc. Now after the last fatal drowning there will be more rules on life jackets but the Lobster fishermen I know say they can’t work with them on.

@redheadpei I agree with the lobster fisherman, you will make more mistakes wearing a life jacket and trying to work. It is the same here, every time there is a tragedy there will be more rules. Fishermen can not take more rules, the things they say we need on the boat are not cheap, the raft is around a grand the epurp is between 2 and 3 grand life jackets are cheap enough but then you have to have these fancy little lights on them, you have to have all these stupid plagues that say things like no drugs allowed on the boat, no throwing trash and I forget what the other 2 said, the plagues are like 40 bucks each, it is things that everyone knows but you have to have the damn plague. That is just a few of the things they say we need. I agree with some of them but the others is just BS.

Yaaay! You finally got bait!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56691.97
ETH 2499.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23