Free Write Tuesday prompt Tart

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Tuesday prompt Tart by @mariannewest

When I was in Tulum Mexico we had lunch at a village where they cooked everything outside, the chicken was the best I had ever had, it was moist and literally falling off the bone. They served us hibiscus tea, it was a little tart but still very good, I wish I would have asked how they make it.

My husband gave me a pen of his bait so I could fish today. I caught this trout and was torn between keeping it or throwing it back because I felt it has had a rough life and still strived to survive, then I thought maybe it is best if I just put it out of its misery, so I clubbed it and threw it in the cooler. Now as I sit here I am feeling bad for doing that and wishing I would have thrown it back. Something happened to its top jaw, it was completely gone and had no upper teeth. It was healed up so it has survived quite a while in this condition.

IMG_20190528_155456.jpg

Years ago we caught a bluefish that a shark took a chunk out of right where its asshole was and it grew a new ass on its side. He was a fierce fish, not a tart.

I had a good catch today, I had 41 head of trout that weighed 71 pounds. But now I do not have bait. I put my traps back in my boat and tomorrow I will spend the day hunting for bait.

IMG_20190528_164619.jpg

IMG_20190528_164613.jpg

Sort:  

Hello...!!!
@myjob
Wow... that trout is really bizarre looking....!!!!! Mystery.
You positively and literally just cracked me up with one
😅..lol..
" a shark took a chunk out of right where its asshole was and it grew a new ass on its side."
🤗 71 pounds. I'm so glad to hear you had a great catch day.
:D

@annephilbrick I am glad I gave you a laugh but that is a tough fish to grow a new ass. It still amazes me.

Hello...!!!
@myjob
And yet again your totally cracking me up here
😅😅..!!!!!
"that is a tough fish to grow a new ass. It still amazes me."
🤷‍♀️🤔😅I am amazed too...!!!!! Truly really amazed...!!!!!
:D

I am amazed the fish grew a new one. Too bad we couldn’t grow new parts when something happens to the old ones.
Love the compassion you had for the fish and always enjoy stories from your day. ♥️

@redheadpei Thank you, I wonder what the fish have that we don't have that enables them to grow new parts like the bluefish did. when you think about it, it is like magic or something, its intestines had to attach and a new hole had to grow open. it still puzzles me. And I have heard that sharks do not get cancer, "they" have tried all sorts of things to give them cancer and something in them kills it. One day "they will find out what it is and have a cure, then sharks will be good for something. lol. And how do lizards grow a new tail when theirs gets cut off? And get this, I grow dragon fruit and when I pick it and set it on the counter if I do not eat it right away it will grow new skin over the hole where I took it off the plant. I am amazed at how it does this. sorry I kind of rambled on.

Maybe the shark has the answer to curing cancer or creating a vaccine to prevent it. In your warmer climate you can grow Dragon Fruit but we don’t have it here. Not to worry about rambling on. I always enjoy your views. 😊 💕

@redheadpei yes dragon fruit is a warm climate fruit. I have 2 kinds the white and red, I like red, it makes a good smoothy, too.

Hibiscus tea taste good and its healthy!

@blacklux I had never heard of it until then, it was good.

Very common in SE Asia. Yummy!

Magic Dice has rewarded your post with a 35% upvote. Thanks for playing Magic Dice.

You have receive an upvote. Thanks for playing moonSTEEM

Aw, poor little guy managing to exist without half his mouth.
It’s the midweek prompt deliverers here with the word for today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-586-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-chapter

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

@deirdyweirdy thank you for the prompt. The more I think of that fish the more I wish I would have thrown it back. Then again I think it was having a hard time. I can not believe how torn I am over it. But it is done and I have to move on.

A new ass? Amazing what nature can do.

Hope you find enough bait.
💥💖

Posted using Partiko Android

@wakeupkitty Yes it is amazing what nature can do, someday maybe they will find out how it is done, then people could benefit from it.

He was a fierce fish, not a tart. hahaha
It's interesting that you have more regrets about killing a deformed fish than an intact one.
I value humans who have struggled more than those who have not. I wonder if that is what you were feeling.

@owasco I felt bad for the fish having to feed like that and it still bothers me for not throwing it back, I am still not sure which way was the right one to do. I try not to think about killing the fish, I do not do it for fun I do it to feed the people who do not or can not fish. I would never kill something just for the fun of killing it. My husband hunts and there is nothing that goes to waste. Even rattlesnakes get eaten, not by me but him, I will cook them but can not bring myself to eat it. He eats the hearts of every animal he gets, I can not do that either.

wow. just wow. you awe me. I am so happy our paths have crossed. Again, I think the homesteaders would love what you have to say and they are a very loving supportive bunch of folk. check out @riverflows for starters if you haven't met her already.

@owasco I will look up @riverflows, thank you for such kind words.

The most interesting stories ever come from you :)

@fitinfun Thank you, that is a nice compliment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49