Free Write Tuesday prompt Global

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Tuesday prompt Global by @mariannewest

I was wondering if lovebugs are global or just here in Florida. They say they only live for 3 days have sex and die. I have never seen so many of them. They are even on the river, I was running from where I keep my bait to the boat ramp and they were hitting me and splatting on my sunglasses. A friend went offshore and he said they are even out there. I guess no place is safe from them. I had to roll my truck window up to keep them from filling it up while I got my boat ready to go down the road.

IMG_20190514_125959.jpg

Today my first fish was a bull shark, ugh. I had a trout hit my bait and missed it, had another one hit and missed it, then I could not get another bite, so I moved. The next anchoring I caught an 8-pound jack crevalle, it gave me a fight round and round the boat until he got tired, I got it unhooked and thrown back in the water. The firehouse does not want the big jacks. My next anchoring I caught 7 but missed 5, idk, I was not getting my timing right. I was pissed at myself. I moved and very first bait caught one, I ended up catching 15 that I could keep and threw back 4 small ones, I got my timing issue worked out. It was 12:30 and I was out of bait and the storms were building so it was time to go.

I had 22 trout that weighed 37 pounds, my husband caught 59 pounds and ran out of bait. So tomorrow we have to try and catch bait.

IMG_20190514_131045.jpg

Sort:  

Those bugs are no joke! I have all kinds of bugs here in SE Asia, but most are small and I only know about them when I m all bit up the next day! Glad you got some fish and good luck with the bait. I love your stories and photos @myjob - keep 'em coming :)

@fitinfun So far no one has these pesky bugs but here in Florida. Thank you for liking my fishing stories.

I do. i'm so glad you are freewriting now :)

@fitinfun I read your post on SteemReply I am using it and love it, thank you.

I'm so glad to hear that, @myjob. I think this is a winner :)

I was wondering if what you call love bugs are the Japanese beetle ( they look like lady bugs). They have all of a sudden invaded this area and everyone was complaining about them getting into homes in groves. At first I thought they were lady bugs and didn’t want to kill them. I find scrubbing the floors and spraying around the window frames with vinegar keeps them at bay.
As always I enjoy your fishing day and hope you manage to get more bait.

@redheadpei these do not look like ladybugs they are black and slender, in the picture each black spot is two of them they are for lack of better word I will say "attached" to each other.

We don't have those bugs here

@blacklux you are lucky, they drive people insane

Can't say I've ever heard of love bugs but I'm not very fond of insects of any kind so I reckon I'd not make a good fisherman.
It's the midweek prompt delivery team here with your prompt for today:

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-572-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-room-service

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

@deirdyweirdy thank you for the prompt.

Seems there are several insects that come and invade everything only to be gone again.

Posted using Partiko iOS

@mariannwest yes but lovebugs are insane, to live three days they can be a royal pain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63039.96
ETH 2549.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78