Free Write Sunday prompt Rat Trap

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite prompt Rat Trap by @mariannewest

Our pig fish traps make good rat traps and snake traps through the winter when we are not using them we put them in the old chicken coop and leave the doors open. We stack the traps so no opening is blocked, this way if a rat or snake gets in, it will have a way to get out. Even a rat does not deserve to die by starvation.

We have rats in my husband's shop but he will not set rat traps for them, he says some other animal might get caught in it. We do have a coachwhip in there and I heard him getting a rat. Coachwhips are a cool snake, they can stand up by their tail, it is an awesome sight to see a five-foot snake standing there looking at you. They are not venomous and make a pretty good rat trap.

Today I went to the beach to hunt for sandfleas. When I walked down to the surf I saw a lady trying to catch them with her hands. I walked past her a little ways and made a pull with my rake. Then walked back to where she was and asked if she would like to have some fleas she said yes and was excited to see how many I had. She said she bought some frozen shrimp but they looked rotten to her. I gave her half of the fleas that were in my rake and she was very happy she thanked me and headed for her fishing pole. I went on to the south catching fleas. I ended up getting 3 and 1/2 gallons of them, she was gone by the time I made it back so I do not know if she caught anything.

Tomorrow my husband is going to go with me so we both can try to get sandfleas. I wish he would just let me get them because it is going to be too much on him. He tried to get sandfleas last week but had to give it up, he said he kept feeling wore-out. He has Afib and is suppose to get an echocardiogram, but first, he needs to find a heart Dr that we can afford. We do not have any health insurance.

Sort:  

I am sorry to hear that your husband is sick. I really wish we had universal health insurance so everyone can be taken care off.

@freewritehouse thank you. The health insurance we do not make enough money for Obamacare and we make to much for the other not sure if it is called Medicare or Medicaid. We have always saved up the money to pay for our medical needs like my cataract surgery, this is our first major health concern.

Up next:

https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-689-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-poetry-reading

five-foot snake standing there looking at you

OMG!!!! You kill me!

I have had afib for years among my many other heart troubles. Does his heart pound when eating? Does the weight of his ribs bother him when lying down? Asking because if you DO NOT have those symptoms, - this is good.

Supposedly you will soon get used to afib if that is the only problem. I do not even know I have it now and that took about a year after it came on. The first year I thought I would die every day.

Here is the most next prompt above.

@fitinfun Thank you for the prompt...He says no to both questions, no pounding heart when eating and no to the weight of his ribs, he says he feels fine as long as he does nothing but as soon as he does anything like today he went with me getting sandfleas and he had to quit and went back to the truck. He has not been to a heart doctor, just the local clinic the doctor listened to his heart and did not like what he heard then did an ekg and did not like the way it looked. My husband is trying to find the cheapest doctor, I tell him there is no such thing.

😘
@myjob
I soooo wished I lived near you and I could help you get some sandfleas...
You'd have to teach me and I'd love to learn and help you both....!!!!!

@annephilbrick That is so sweet of you but I am afraid the heat would take you out. It has been the hottest summer that I can remember even I have a hard time. But I would love for you to give it a try, we would be one hell of a team. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63352.53
ETH 2447.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67