Free Write Saturday prompt Quarantine

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite prompt Quarantine by @mariannewest

My Daughter and grand-daughter were visiting. My grand-daughter was 5 at the time, so this was 13 years ago. My husband was at his computer, our grand-daughter was playing ball with our rottweiler right behind him, my daughter and I were in the same room. We heard our grand-daughter scream then our dog barked. She had a nasty cut right above her eye, we all instantly thought the dog bit her, she kept saying he did not bite her but we thought it happened so fast that maybe she did not know he bit her. We rushed her to the ER because she needed stitches and the ER put it down as a dog bite.

My husband and I were going to north Florida to work our clam lease and we were going to take the dog with us, but since he bit her we were not allowed to take him out of the county, they let us keep him at home but he had to be in quarantine for 10 days.

My daughter took her to a plastic surgeon so she would not have a nasty scar, he told her that this was not a dog bite, he said he has seen many and this was more like a hit with his paw and the toenail cut her. My husband told me while we were at the hospital he took the dog to the back yard with his gun but he could not do it.

Months later I was going through some videos and came across one with her playing ball with our dog, just like she was that day and I saw where they both were going for the ball and the dog took his foot and knocked the ball out of the way within inches of her bending down to pick it up.

Sort:  

So the little 5-year old was correct. Thank goodness your husband didn't have the heart to shoot the poor dog.

@deirdyweirdy Yes she was right, but I did not think so and neither did the ER. We should learn to listen when a child speaks. I am happy my husband did not do it. The dog gave us many more years of love and companionship, he was my husbands best buddy.

@myjob
It's amazing how fast we can be at arriving at conclusions because we have to have the answer immediately. Thank goodness your husband didn't follow through. I bet in his heart he had some strong doubts. Intuition.

@annephilbrick I could have sworn he bit her, but could not figure out why, he was a docile dog, loved everyone and everything, we had baby chickens and he watched over them, he was good with the cats, good with kids. The only thing he disliked was a bicycle. Yes, I am so thankful my husband did not do it. A lot is to be said for that gut feeling always trust it.

Definitely trust that gut feeling.
You had your doubts all along and your intuition was tugging at you..!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68011.48
ETH 3275.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64