Free Write Saturday prompt Cracking up

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Saturday prompt Cracking up by @mariannewest

My youngest brother's birthday just passed, 10-02, he was the funniest person ever, if you met him you loved him. He was always cracking up just a great personality. These are my memories of him.

His name was Henry Nathaniel Thompson but everyone called him Hoss. I remember the time he climbed under the bow of an old boat that wasps had built a nest, they stung him so many times that my Dad had to shave his head to treat all the stings. With his head shaved he got sun poisoning, I remember his head looking swollen with sores and Dad taking Dial soap and washing his head.

We were told not to swim under the shallow end of the dock because that is where they dumped metal things like bar stools and wire. Hoss was walking under the shallow end and a piece of wire got stuck in his foot, the wire was wrapped around something and I could not get it pulled out. The tide was rising and I had no choice but to get Dad, my Dad sent our oldest brother Tommy to help. Tommy could not get the wire pulled out from the bottom so he went to get wire cutters. By this time Hoss had to keep his mouth shut and with his head laid back only his nose was out of the water, and I was crying but telling him Tommy will get him out. Tommy got back with the cutters and cut the wire not far from his foot. I have always been very thankful that I did not wait any longer before telling Dad.

Hoss started first grade and the very first school day the teacher left the room and Hoss took a piece of chalk and wrote ass in big letter across the floor of his classroom.

He could take any song and make a funny song out of it. He was 6 foot 6 inches tall, he could hold his arm out straight and I could stand beside him and my head would be under his arm. I have many good memories about him but this is only 5 minutes to write it all, so I will skip ahead to that terrible day.

Hoss and his best friend worked for a lumber company and were unloading 3/4 inch plywood from a train. The band that holds the wood together broke and all the plywood fell on him, I thought I could write the details of this but it still hurts too much. I have seen way too many funerals in my 63 years but I have never been to one like Hosses funeral. Every seat was full, people lined the walls, people were standing in the reception area and out the door, he touched a lot of lives in his 26 short years.

Sort:  

Thank you very much for sharing those memories of your brother @myjob, he sounds like one of those people that lives life to the fullest, but many times get a too short one, I am very sorry that you lost him, again thanks for sharing, it's awesome.


This post is AWESOME!

It has therefore got a manual 100% upvote from @thisisawesome, for the Awesome Daily Upvotes in category Freewrite, I give out 1 such vote in that category per day, plus 3 more in other categories, and your post will also be featured in todays Awesome Daily report for more visibility.

The goal of this project is to "highlight Awesome Content, and growing the Steem ecosystem by rewarding it".

@thisisawesome thank you for the upvote and the kind words. I will always miss him. He truly was an awesome person who loved life.

Thanks @myjob, and take care of yourself, he lives on in your memory and in your heart, stay awesome.

I am so sorry you lost your brother, so tragically, and so young. I am glad you have so many fond memories of him. I bet you could write many stories about him to share with us, and I hope you do!

@scribblingramma Thank you, every year around his birthday he gets heavier on my heart, he was a jokster and always in a good mood, if you met him you loved him, and many people loved him.

I’m sorry about the loss of your brother, @myjob. You have wonderful memories and he will always be there in your heart. ❤️

@redheadpei Thank you. Yes, he is always in my heart with my other 3 brothers I have lost.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60728.87
ETH 2661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50