Free Write prompt Horrific

in #freewrite5 years ago


This is my post for #freewrite prompt Horrific
0724151137-00.jpg
I had my throttle wide open trying to beat this storm. I made it to the dock that I hide my bait at and got my bait put away when it let loose. It was horrific, lightening hitting so close to me that I got out of my boat and climbed on a friends clam barge. He had some fish totes on it so I curled up and put one over the top of me. It seemed to last forever. The next day the news was talking about this storm and they said a couple teenage boys took their boat out Jupiter Inlet and snap chatted a friend saying they were going to the Bahamas, they never returned. Coast guard searched for weeks and finally found their boat, upside down, off the Georgia coast. They never found the boys. This same storm sunk a freighter on it's way to Puerto Rico the crew of 9 all lost their lives. It was just an afternoon thunderstorm, but the most horrific thing I had seen in my 35 years of fishing. It has been several years since this happen and I still have this feeling of deep sadness writing these words. The boys did not have a 2 way radio on their boat or an ebirb, an ebrib is a device that if you sink it floats and sends a signal to the coast guard that a boat sunk. It is designed to drift like a person would drift. Those are 2 things that all commercial fishermen who fish offshore will not leave the dock without. I think they should be mandatory on all boats. I do not know if these would have saved the boys lives, because all the life jackets were found with the boat. And I do not think the best swimmers could survive in that storm. And worse of all the gulf stream is a terrible environment to be in the water. My heart goes out to all 11 peoples families. I will stop writing, very sad.

Sort:  

Congratulations @myjob! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

lightnings and me are not friends... yes, I think they are beautiful... but far away from me! For some reason lightnings always fall near me... I lost the counts I almost got struck by one :(

@blacklux lightening is not something to take lightly. Be careful.

Hello... :-)
@myjob
So sad for the loss of the young men...!! :(
Thank God you were able to full throttle it back to safety ♡
That was a powerful dangerous storm. Not one to forget ever...!!!!

@annephilbrick I will never forget this one, I knew it was bad but had no clue how bad, if I would have been 30 min. later I do not think my boat would have made it through it. I will never forget the boys, or the 9 men.

You captured my attention @myjob wondering how you made it through the storm. So sad about the young boys and the crew that were lost.
The ebrib is something I never heard of but it certainly sounds like it should be on every boat.

Uncle Bruni returning to leave an upvote @myjob, I was running low yesterday. 💪

Posted using Partiko Android

@wonderwop thank you Uncle Burni, I hope you do not mind me calling you that.

I don't mind at all. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57340.70
ETH 3072.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37