Free Write Monday prompt Nest

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Monday prompt nest by @mariannewest

When I was a kid you could take cars on the beach, they were called beach buggies, mostly made from old cars that were cut down and had wooded beds put on them where many people could ride, some had railings. My brother got in trouble when he took my Grandpas old car and made it into a beach buggy.

We would ride the beach at night and watch the turtles dig their nest to lay their eggs. They crawl up the beach and dig a deep hole, then position their rear over the hole and out came the eggs, lots of eggs. They are the size of a ping pong ball and soft. When they finished laying the eggs they would cover the hole with sand and crawl back to the ocean.

As kids, we would ride the turtles back to the edge of the water. we did not hurt the turtles. They are not small turtles but big loggerheads. It might not have been the right thing to do but we did not know any better and just having fun. Sometimes adults would ride them and the turtles held them with no problem and could still crawl back to the ocean.

The old timers used to say you could tell if there was going to be a bad hurricane season by how high the turtles made their nest. High up the beach, we will have bad hurricanes. The year we had back to back hurricanes they did this, so I think the old timers knew what they were talking about.

1488496280732.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @myjob! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 300 posts. Your next target is to reach 350 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Wow! That is a huge turtle! Weren't you afraid they would bite you?
I found a a small box turtle yesterday and I was so happy because I haven't seen any turtles since I was a kid and that was a very long time ago.

@whatisnew they are pretty docile creatures, I had a gopher turtle crawl across my yard today, my husband picked it up so I could back my boat in and it hissed at him, he set it down and it went on his way.

I’ve never seen a turtle that big except on TV. Animals seem to be able to forecast the weather by their habits. Here there is speculation on where the bees or hornets build their hive ~ the closer to the ground, the milder the winter.

@redheadpei I believe animals somehow know how to predict the weather.

Yes they seem to have built in radar and navigation knowledge also.

Oh wow, that's a huge turtle! Who needs jetsky when you have that! hehehe

@blacklux Haaaahhaaaahhaaaa you are so funny

You are always so full of stories. I love to read them. Great picture!
☘💕

Posted using Partiko Android

@wakeupkitty thank you, I have so many memories, I was thinking how nice it is to be able to write about them and post so they will stay forever. I might get Alziemers and forget my memories. I am glad you like reading them.

I like reading them too.
The great thing about steem is it remains. That is why I started here. We write our own history and nobody can delete it 😁🌞☘💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Is that photo of you?
I wrote for all three of the most recent prompts and thought I read all the other entries, but somehow I missed all three of yours. Strange.
Love the things I learn from you. I think we may have had similar childhoods, but I was an inland hill freshwater dweller. The ocean frightens me.

@owasco It is my Mother and Aunt the guy standing behind is a family friend. I do not have a picture of me riding them. I love the ocean but have great respect for it. I have been rolled on the bottom more than once, you get sand in every opening on your body. Hair would be matted in sand. Thank you for reading my Free writes.

I love them. I am so happy you have been writing them. You have a way of presenting a job that I might think unpleasant as very beautiful. Do you tag the homesteaders or permaculture communities? I think they would love what you write if not.

@owasco It has never occurred to me to tag them, I know what homesteaders are but do not know anything about permaculture, I will have to check them out. Actually, I started posting just for fun and never dreamed people would be interested in a fisherman's life. And to tell you the truth I feel honored that people find it interesting.

It's fascinating! And a welcome change. The permaculturists and homesteaders are interested in anything having to do with food or medicine from the wild. Maybe I'm wrong, but I think they would support you.

@owasco I tagged homesteaders and permaculture in my free write prompt rodeo, today, thank you for your help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30