Free Write Friday/Saturday prompt Trot

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Friday prompt Trot by @mariannewest

My apologies for not writing yesterday but something out of my control happened last night. I got home from fishing around 6 pm and was reading everyone's posts on steemit the next thing I knew, my husband was waking me to go to bed it was 11 pm. I went right back asleep and slept till 7 this morning. I have been putting in long hard days and I guess it is catching up with me. I went baiting this morning got 275 bait, and came home at 1 pm, sat in my chair and took a 3-hour nap. I should be well rested for the coming week.

Yesterday-Friday- I started my day by hunting for the holding pen I store my bait in, I hide it by a pylon under a friends dock I do not tie it to anything and have a pipe with a bent nail attached to it and reach down and hook the holding pen. It was not there I felt all around with the pipe then "something" told me to check under my boat and there it was, upside down. It had someone's fishing lure hooked in the top of it. They must have thrown under the dock and got hung in my holder and broke their line off. The good thing was all my bait was still there.

Pauls Island is one of the biggest islands we have, no one lives on it. I fished on all sides of it and did not catch much actually I only caught fish on the east side of it. On the west side, I caught a huge jack and after taking me round and round the boat, it got wrapped around the lower unit of my motor and broke off.

It was a rainy day, rained on me seven times but no lightning, I do not mind fishing in the rain as long as it is not lightning. It rained on me all the way to the dock to put my used bait away. It stopped raining when I was tieing my boat to the boat ramp dock, so I took my sleekers (rain gear) off, climbed up on the dock and was walking to my truck and it started raining again I said to myself maybe it won't rain much or hard. That was a mistake, it poured. I stepped up my pace from a fast walk to a trot but it was too late I was soaked. I got the truck backed down the ramp and it showed no sign of letting up and I was already wet so I got out of the truck and trotted down the dock with a garbage bag over my head and put the boat on the trailer, I drove to the fish house and sat there for a good 15 min before the rain stopped.

IMG_20190607_172616.jpg

I caught 21 trout that weighed 36 pounds

IMG_20190607_173723.jpg

I also caught 4 Redfish but by law can only keep one, it will be our dinner. By law, I can not sell them.

IMG_20190607_130004.jpg

Sort:  

Hi! Why can not you sell that particular fish?

@isgledysduarte I have no clue as to why other than the state wants them as sport fish, 25 years ago "they" closed them and was only supposed to be temporarily closed but they have never given them back to us. We can only keep 1 a day and it has to be bigger than 18 inches and smaller than 27 inches.

LOL I also have a garbishbag in my car (for all kind of occasions).

No need to apologize if you do not write. Neither did I, I wrote my weekendwrite today too and had to sleep. Slept longer today (read: went back to bed after 5 am out for the dogs).
☘💕

Posted using Partiko Android

@wakeupkitty we must be on the same wavelength or something like that, we have the need for sleep. I use my garbage bag to sit on when I come in with wet pants, or as with that day as a raincoat, it is handy to have.

I guess we are 😄☘💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57859.61
ETH 2966.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67