Free Write Friday prompt Show me the way home

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Friday prompt show me the way home by @mariannewest

Where my childhood home once was is now a parking lot. In 1954 my Mom and Dad leased a piece of land on the south side of the Sebastian Inlet, I was born there and grew almost up there. I was 3 months of turning 16 when we had to move. The state took the land. Dad started a campground and had a bar with live music every weekend. We did not have electricity but Dad had a big generator that ran everything, I can remember begging him to wake up every Saturday morning after he was in the bar all night, so we could watch cartoons. We had 3 channels on the tv. The only road in and out of the inlet was a small road made of sugar sand, you had to let some air out of your tires to keep from getting stuck. I was in third grade when the state built A1A a paved road to the inlet. After that we got electric. I dream of going back to those days, please can someone show me the way home.

Today I was not having much luck finding fish to catch and as I was going down a shoreline I could see some type of seagrass right against the shoreline so I decided to try it and to my surprise, I caught fish there. It was one and a half feet deep. Before I found the fish on this shoreline, I was fishing an island and a sport was fishing down from me he saw me catch a couple of trout and when I moved he moved to where I was. later he was on the west side of another island and I anchored on the east side the first bait I caught a trout so he went to the next island and anchored on it like I was on the island. I did not catch anymore so I moved to where he was and caught four. He was watching, I kind of felt bad for him.

I caught 22 trout that weighed 41 pounds and a redfish that I gave to a friend

IMG_20190614_170023.jpg

Sort:  

Waoh, your story reminds me of a novel and what happened to many who left home for a greener pasture only to come back and see a new different things.

Well, am here to deliver the weekend freewrite prompt. Hop in.

On this kind of a day
Choose only one prompt if you may
When it's 5-minutes, put your pen away.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-6-15-2019-single-prompt-option
...
...
A guru you wanna become
Trying all the three prompt
Here, show the world who is the champion.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-6-15-2019-part-1-the-first-sentence

...
...
Am wishing you a very blessed weekend

Congratulations @myjob! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1750 replies. Your next target is to reach 2000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Your freewrite reminds me of Joni Mitchell’s song, ‘ A Big Yellow Taxi’ ~ they paved paradise and put up a parking lot.
Looks like your fishing is going good, @myjob.

@redheadpei yes it was paradise, the song is fitting. Yes, fishing is good but makes for long days. we know it will not last so we have to give it our all while we can.

Government always takes all... it bothers me!

@blacklux I have had more than my share of the government taking things from. I lost my childhood home, they took the way I made a living, they took the home I raised my kids in. I am not a fan of the government.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81