Free Write Friday prompt Raking Leaves

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite prompt raking leaves by @mariannewest

Living in Florida I have never had to spend my day raking leaves. But I spent many days "raking" the bottom of the river. Before the river crashed we grew clams and we had to keep the rolling grass off of them. What we call rolling grass is really a type of algae. Grassalerea Grassalerea is the scientific name or some call it drift algae. If left on the clams it smothers them, so my husband came up with a way to push it off the clam bags. He built a frame that attached to our boat, the frame had netting with a big bag for the rolling grass to catch in, the frame also had two wheels and utility broom brushes on the bottom. I would drive up and down the rows of clams and when the bag got full of rolling grass I would drive off the clam lease and my husband would open the end of the netting and as I drove the boat all the rolling grass would come out of the bag. This was an all-day process.

I was fishing the north side of Long Point today, Long Point is a campground. I heard this couple in a very heated argument, it went on for quite a bit. I could not make out what the woman was saying but the man kept yelling " what did I do" over and over. All I caught on that anchoring was 2 redfish that I had to throw back because I had one on the boat. I moved to the back of the canal and did not catch anything but another redfish. As I was leaving I saw an orange inflatable boat with a fishing pole in it floating across Long Point mudhole flat. By the direction of the wind and the campers, I figured which direction it came from, the arguing couple or another campsite. I went to the other site first because the arguing couple was quiet and inside their camper, I figured maybe they were making up and I did not want to interrupt them. It did not belong to the other campers, so I had no choice but to knock on their door. The guy came out and it was their raft so I gave it to him, he thanked me over and over, I think he had been drinking, pretty sure of it, but he was happy to get it back.

IMG_20190823_153735.jpg

I only caught 10 trout that weighed 22 pounds

IMG_20190823_172944.jpg

This is a Jack but I call the big ones like this large Marges

IMG_20190823_141855.jpg

Sort:  

That was ingenious of your Hubby to clean the grass off the clams.

Lucky for the arguing couple that you caught their raft and returned it to them.

Nice catch with the big one, @myjob.

Redheadpei Yes my husband has come up with many things like the clam pusher that worked and now everyone uses them. He designed a castnet that they use for spanish mackeral, that is the only design everyone now uses. The guy was very happy to get his raft and pole back.

😊
Hello !!!
That's a pretty cool raft !!!! They were most lucky to get it back... thanks to you❤ !!!🤗.
Pretty cool shadow photo on third picture. Kinda looks like someone is
taking a drink ☺😁
:D

@annephilbrick The guy was very happy to get the raft back. The third picture was my camera etiquette, pinky up, like drinking tea. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61342.71
ETH 2389.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56