Free Write Friday prompt Mountain Peak

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Friday prompt Mountain Peak by @mariannewest

A few years back me and two of my sisters flew to Pennsylvania to another sisters house, from there we drove to Connecticut to the last sister's house. With the five of us all together we were off to Vermont where the oldest sister had a cabin on Maidstone Lake.

This is her cabin
DSC00478.JPG

I think we were in New Hampshire when we stopped to take a trolley ride to the top of a mountain peak. I had never been that high. It was scary beautiful, we even saw a bear on our way up. But boy o boy was it windy up there.

Today has been a busy day, I drove to Grant put my boat over and gathered up all my traps to take home for the storm.

IMG_20190830_094726.jpg

I have worked hard for bait all year and did not want to dump it back, but I had to. These are pig fish.

IMG_20190830_091603.jpg

After picking up all the traps I drove back to Sebastian, put the boat back over and went to the dock where I keep my holding pens, I had 150 bait in one and 60 in the other, I dumped them back in the river and really felt like throwing my arms in the air and sit down to have a good cry, but I had things to do.

I took my bottle tree down

IMG_20190829_164419.jpg

We cut back the trees around the trailer and cut one queen palm completely down, it was to close to the trailer.

IMG_20190830_165937.jpg

Tomorrow we need to gather plywood to cover the windows and we need to go to Vero Beach to one Daughters house and see if we can get her generator to run, then back home to pick up all the crap in our yard.

My husband has been a rock, assuring everyone we will be ok, he now tells me he does not think we should stay for this one, I said how do you think we are going to leave now. The roads will be grid-locked and all the hotels are booked. we have no choice but to ride it out and Pray. I keep thinking it will turn and I am not letting it get in my head that it won't.

Sort:  

Nice cabin! Also, praying for you guys. Be safe!

@blacklux yes it was a very nice place to vaca. The storm is still doing what it did to you, as it stands right now, we will only get rain and some wind. It seems to me if the landfall is aimed at an area early in its development it always changes. Not 100% out of the woods but I will take this new forecast.

🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏
@myjob
I am and I shall continue to pray !!!!!
❤🙏

@annephilbrick thank you, it is working. we are not out of the clear but it is looking a hell of a lot better for us. we might get tropical storm winds, which we can handle. We will not be able to drive to our house/trailer but at least we will have a trailer to walk to. Happy Happy girl, here.

🙏🤗❤🤗❤🙏 !!!!!!!!!
Beyond awesome news things are looking better @myjob !!!!!!!!!!❤😘
Still sounds like it's going to be very crazy and most concerning there.
I'm still 🙏🙏
Thank ❤ for updating me.
:)

@annephilbrick your welcome, it still looks like all we are to get is tropical storm winds and get this they are saying all we will get in rain is 1 to 2 inches, we have been getting small rain squawls all day, time will tell.

😥
I've been listening to the news @myjob and wow !!😦 Hurricane Dornin is absolutely insane.
I will continue to 🙏🙏.
Please keep me updated when you can 😘.

Am here with the freewrite prompt for the weekend.

Come, come, try this one
One prompt from the writers loin
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-8-31-2019-single-prompt-option
...
...
Write right, warriors 🐴 of freewrite
Take captives of this prompt tripartite.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-8-31-2019-part-1-the-first-sentence
...
Do have a glorious weekend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64448.82
ETH 2646.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77