Free Write Friday prompt A Break for Us All

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite prompt A Break for Us All by @mariannewest

Today has been a disappointing day. I drove to Grant where my pig fish traps are at, I picked up the first trap, not a fish in it and the rotten squid still there. I hate handling squid after it rots, but it had to be taken out of the trap. I put it in the boat and went to the next trap, nothing in it either. I pulled the next 6 traps all had nothing in them. I grabbed the next buoy and started lifting it and could feel them in it, I got excited I found them. I got 11 out of that trap, now do I rebait and throw it back or put it in the boat? I decided to go to the next trap and make my decision, it had nothing, nothing in the next and next, etc... I had put 22 traps in the boat for 11 bait. I put 8 traps in a different area and the very first one I had 6 bait in it, but I am not going to get excited yet, which was a good thing, out of the last 7, I got 1 pigfish. I brought all my traps home and put them in the shed, trout fishing is over, till next year.

IMG_20190906_100842.jpg

No matter how many eels I catch I always jump when I bring the trap to the top of the water, it is like walking up on a black snake, you jump even though you know he will not hurt you, I know the eel can not get to me but if he could he would bite me. Mean little bastards.

IMG_20190906_094324.jpg

It was trying to get through the wire to bite me.

IMG_20190906_094306.jpg

My husband ran the river today looking for pompano but did not find any. It was blowing 25 to 30 out of the west and he was on the rough side of the river. He said he was pounding along when he saw a big lizard come out from under the bow of his boat. He said with each wave it would bounce, it climbed up on one of the coolers but it was still bouncing, then it got on one of his fishing poles and stayed there, my husband said it was a smart lizard because the pole flexed with the waves and made a could place for the lizard to ride. He said it stayed there until he started in to the ramp. Then the lizard went to the side of the boat and stretched his head out looking at the land. He said he could tell the lizard was happy to see the shore. When he pulled his boat out he moved the lizard so it would not fall off on the road to home.

It looks like it will be a break for us from fishing, but not from work, we will be on the hunt for sandfleas so when the pompano do show up we will have bait to fish for them with.

Sort:  

Congratulations @myjob! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Crikey, those eels sure do look mean! I look forward to reading about your sand flea hunt. I can't even imagine what that entails.

@deirdyweirdy it involves a lot of walking on the beach and pulling a rake through the surf. I will post pics when I go. I will look and see if I have any old pictures of what one looks like. found some

this is the rake I use

FISHING (8).jpg

these are sand fleas

0311160951-00.jpg

So they're like little crabs. Thanks for the pics. Very interesting.

@deirdyweirdy yes, another name for them is mole crab.

😕
I'm sorry to hear was a disappointing day for you @myjob!
Eels are just darn right wicked creepy looking 😱 !!!! They sure as heck do look mean !!!!!! I can't even begin to imagine getting bitten one of those..!!!🤐🤬🤯

@annephilbrick I do my best not to let one bite me, they are creepy. I am always disappointed when one season closes there is always a span in between where we do not make any money, I guess it is our time to re-coop. If we could just do it.

Yes, that eel does look nasty! Sorry you didn't catch more bait. I liked the story about the lizard catching a free ride on the fishing pole.

@scribblingramma glad you liked the lizard story, I wish I could write it the way my husband told it to me, he was hilarious

I know what you mean Eels always look so scary the same for me

@tattoodjay there are two things I catch in my traps that I do not lie, eels and spider crabs, spider crabs do not hurt but it is all those legs moving around creeps me out.

spider crans can look so evil at times cant they

@tattoodjay yes sir, they sure can.

Fishing things, am getting understand how this things work.

Am here with the weekends freewrite prompt.

For singles who want to mingle
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-9-7-2019-single-prompt-option
...
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-9-7-2019-part-1-the-first-sentence
...
Do have a wonderful weekend.

@botefarm thank you for the prompt

hello @myjob Just to meet you (read your writings) I find fabulous, soon I will continue to make you more visits, the ones I have read are fantastic and full of feeling, I greet you from Caracas, Venezuela.

@truelovemom Thank you for reading and liking my post. I try to write about my memories or what is going on in my life. Your words are very kind. I will follow you

It is a pleasure for me to meet people as nice and with stories as emotional as yours.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76