Free write

in #freewrite6 years ago

This post is for #freehouse Tuesday prompt Gold......When some people start pompano fishing they get gold fever, the nicest person will change into this greedy monster. They do not care about friendship or respect. Pompano is the highest price fish we catch and it is sought after by fishermen and consumers. They are even gold in color. There is a limited time to catch them and it is coming to an end, they are gone back north by sometime in May. So the gold hunters come out of the wood works to get in on the last catches. Most of the fisherman that try to catch them are old retired men that moved down here and don't need the money, but get out there for the thrill of making a fast buck. They will tell you they don't need the money but enjoy catching them. They make it hard on the true fishermen, the ones that have to be there, the ones that need to make a pay check. Gold fever even hits true fishermen, a fisherman that had never pompano fished before asked my husband about how to catch them and my husband being the man he is, told the guy everything he knew. My husband had quit fishing for pompano and was castnetting a fish called a spots. I had been catching pretty good fish in this one place by where he was castnetting. The guy he helped saw where I was catching and was sitting right where I had caught the day before. That evening my husband told me that this guy was not fishing in that spot until he seen me coming, I told my husband it must have been a coincidence. The next day I get back up there and the guy is sitting in the same place and my husband told me he did the same thing, when he saw me coming he went out to that spot. That is what I call gold fever, when someone helps you to catch and then you do something like that.

Sort:  

Ugh, the greediness of human nature gets so annoying!!

People is like that :|

Sadly, there are many people in the world always ready to take advantage of the kindness of others but happily, there are many more who are not.

It’s the midweek prompt delivery engineers here with the word of the day: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-530-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-jewel-thieves

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

@deirdyweirdy Thank you for reading my free write, yes there are people like that, but we don't usually come across them, or we did not use to come across them. The world is changing and not for the good.

Morrel mushrooms in the Midwest in April also cause competition and "gold fever" like this. I just leave the things for others to enjoy and cultivate my own little patch of asparagus - better than mushrooms! Or so I tell myself. It's easier that way. :)

@coarlkean That is more or less what I do, I try not to come in on others and find my own fish and most of the time I do better by keeping to myself. I guess "gold fever" can be anything that people want and don't care who they step on to get it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63095.58
ETH 2475.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64