Day 773: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: nautical language

in #freewrite4 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Monday prompt nautical language hosted by @mariannewest

Being a commercial fisherman I use nautical language but it is not the nautical language that ship captains or the Coast Gaurd would use. The Coast Gaurd reminds what happened Saturday. I was fishing Cat Island and one of my reels broke so I was manually wrapping the line around the spool. I saw something out the corner of my eye, it was the Coast Guard wanting me to reel in my lines so they could check me. I was going to pull them in since I was not catching anything. Then a pompano skipped off my boat and one of my poles went to jumping, one of my nautical terms for I have a fish on. After putting the pompano in the boat there was no way I was going to let them mess up my anchoring, another nautical term, for not letting them scare off the fish when they pull up to me. So I acted like I did not see them and kept fishing. They finally got the hint and left.

Another one of fishermens nautical language is we can take it to the hill. It means let's go to shore and fight it out. I have said this before even knowing I was going to get my ass kicked, luckily they did not take me up on it. Back in the day of net fishing, we would say I am going to make a feeler. That meant I was going to run out a small piece of net to see if there was anything there to catch. Making a set meant running my net out. A good set was a good catch of fish.

Of course, there is starboard and port, there is a trick to remembering which is which. right is a bigger word than left and starboard is right which is a bigger word the port which is left. alee is calm wind or what we would just say something like we are on the lee side of the island and you knew we are on the calm side.

No fishing today, too windy. I fixed two of my reels that broke. And had to put two eyes on one of my rods. After making the wraps to hold the eye on, I coat it with fingernail polish to hold the thread in place. This time I used sparkle polish, I am not sure if the fish will care but it makes me smile.

IMG_20191202_155043.jpg

Sort:  

You have used the Hashtag #[CC] and can now reward 85.0 comments under your post with one CC.

More information about the Commentcoin-Project can be found on this account.
Thanks for using it.

Happy comments.
Your CC-Team:
@kristall97 ([Code-Designer])
@alucian ([Project-Designer])

@myjob It will be that that day with the coast guard you used sign language as the deaf and they thought you would listen to us. I think it's a good system, LOL

@felixgarciap hahahaha, I did not make eye contact. If I gave them sign language they might take it the wrong way. I do not mind being check when I am not catching but when I am catching they can check me later.

In Dutch it is stuurboord and bakboord and rechts (right) and links (left). I think it is easier to know at what side of the ship the "stuur" (steer(ing wheel) is. If that is at the right that is stuurboord.

You provided this prompt too? 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

@wakeupkitty that is interesting but here most steering wheels are in the middle

@myjob That is interesting too.

I thought of you when I saw this prompt yesterday! The only terms you told us in this freewrite that I knew were starboard and port, so thanks for the new words.

I'm here to deliver the Tuesday prompt so please write us another!

https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-774-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-circle

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

@owasco you are welcome and thank you for the prompt. I hope you are having a good week.

😊
@myjob
Pretty snazzy finger nail polish. I like it..!!🤗😊...!!!
That's a great way to remember starboard and port... !!!
;-D

@annephilbrick I think one of my daughters left the nail polish here, the only thing I use it for is putting over the thread I put rod eyes on. I am wondering how much it will sparkle in the sunlight. It might look like I am sending morse-code signals. lol yes, it is a good way to remember which side of the boat you are on. How do you put the emojis on here? I use a laptop because I do not use my phone so the only thing I can post on is steemit.

@annephilbrick I think one of my daughters left the nail polish here, the only thing I use it for is putting over the thread I put rod eyes on. I am wondering how much it will sparkle in the sunlight. It might look like I am sending morse-code signals. lol yes, it is a good way to remember which side of the boat you are on. How do you put the emojis on here? I use a laptop because I do not use my phone so the only thing I can post on is steemit.

😊
I only have an Android phone..the emojis are available to left ontop of where the numbers are. The alphabet is below the numbers.
I'm not sure where they are on a laptop..🤷‍♀️...!!
I wish I could help you out. I'm thinking they must be available somewhere on a laptop or desktop computer....but then again maybe not.
Nail polish sparkling in the sun..lol.
🌞🌝.. sounds pretty darn snazzy..!
Might come in handy for signaling 🤔. I don't know morse-code but my Aunt does.
:-)

@annephilbrick on FB if I hit these keys it will give me a smiley face :) but it does not work on steemit. this one is supposed to be a heart <3, I do not know why they will not work on here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62877.62
ETH 3140.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89