Day 762: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: ring in a birthday

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Sunday prompt ring in a birthday hosted by @mariannewest

My brother was born on Christmas day, what a nice present my Mom had and he was her first child. I remember him always getting more presents than the rest of us, it did not matter if his birthday fell on Christmas, kids do not think that way.

My Grandson will ring in a birthday on the 12th. Last year in December my daughter and Son-n-law took the kids to NYC, they were there on my grandsons birthday, he turned 12 on 12-12-18. They had planned to be in the circle of people watching the Today show. At the last minute, they decided to make a poster saying it was his golden birthday. He got chosen as one of the people they talked to and was on tv. That will always be a special memory for him. This year on 12-12 there will be a full moon at 12-12 am, I just thought I would throw that in.

Today we did not fish because of the weather and it is to be bad for the next two days. We are pretty disgusted anyway. We got our checks and found the price had dropped from $6.00 a pound to $5.25, and just like that, we lost 300 dollars. That sucks!!!!!

Today I went on the hunt for sandfleas. I drove a total of 50 miles, one way, looking for them. The last beach I was going to I found them and they were big. I got excited and called my husband to come help get them. I got them for about 75 yards and then it was over, they were gone. I texted my husband and told him they quit. I walked the beach for 3 miles looking for more and never saw any. I got a half-mile from the beach access and see my husband, he went to the beach north of where I was and did not find any so he came back to my beach, needless to say, he was not happy. I told him I sent a text saying they quit but he did not see it.

Here is my big catch of fleas.

IMG_20191201_155659.jpg

Sort:  

I know a few people who have birthdays near Christmas and don’t celebrate much as they figure everyone is busy buying for Christmas gifts. They get short-changed with the gift giving. I’m glad that wasn’t your brother’s case.

I’m glad you got some fleas. Sometimes things just don’t go as you think they would.

@redheadpei One bag of fleas was not worth all the work and walking I did. At the last beach, I figured I walked a total of 6 miles, I was wishing I had that actifit thing that I see others posting their steps. But one bag was better than getting none.

What are sand fleas worth @myjob?

Posted using Partiko Android

@wonderwop I do not buy them but I was talking to a man on the beach and he said he bought some at the tackle store and he got a cup full for five dollars, I asked how many were in the cup and he said somewhere between 20 or 25. I could bait my rods 1 time with them. There are people that will get them for us but they charge 100 dollars for a five-gallon bucket.

Those sand fleas must be tasty. I'm glad you're well. Receive my affections @myjob.

@felixgarciap The fish like them. I saw a tv show where people were collecting them to eat but it did not show how they prepared them. They might be good but I have better things to eat, lol. Affections received and sending some back to you, thank you.

50 miles driving for sandfleas...

Turning 12 on 12-12 is special 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

@wakeupkitty, I do not live on the beach. I live on the west side of the river, on the east side of the river, there is what they call a barrier island and east of it is the beach. I have to drive south to go north. the closest bridge is south when I cross the river and get to the road that goes along the beach I go north, just doing this is 20 of the miles, then I stop at different beach accesses looking for the fleas, I went another 30 miles looking for them. If you count round trip i went 100 miles.

@myjob So you always need to drive extra to get out/away. That explains a lot. Still.a lot of miles. Thank you for explaining. ❤️

@wakeupkitty yes it is a lot of miles, I just turn the radio on and get in the zone, meaning I sing and drive. lol

@myjob good way to kill time 👍

So sorry about the price drop, @myjob. What an unpleasant surprise. Lots of December special dates for you. I hope the month goes well.

Here is a prompt made with you in mind :)

https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-773-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-nautical-language

@fitinfun yes the price drop sucks, at the old fish house I never got less than 6.50, when I started at this one he was paying 6.00 so I lost 50 cents a pound, now this, ugh. Anyway, thank you for the prompt. I hope your edema has gone away and you are feeling better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60699.16
ETH 2352.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52