Day 753: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: greens

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Tuesday prompt greens hosted by @mariannewest

After seeing this prompt, I am wanting a big bowl of collard greens slowly cooked all day with a nice ham bone. We have not grown collards for a couple of years now. My husband likes swiss chard better, so that is what we have been growing. To me swiss chard is alright but no way compares to collards. I am not a fan of mustard greens or turnip greens but will eat the mustard greens over turnip greens. Spinach is a type of greens that I also love. We grew Malabar spinach and I did not care for it if I am remembering right it was a little slimy.

I know I need to take the good days with the bad ones or visa versa but today was a very bad day. I do not think I have ever fished this hard and caught not one fish I could keep. We knew today would be the last day to fish for the next few days because we are to have a front go through and it will blow for a couple of days then we are to get another front this weekend. So we were on the river as it broke daylight, we went to the inlet but there was nothing there, but yesterday they were not there early so we stayed hoping something would show. My husband caught one at the inlet but left around noon and went to the big flat, he caught one there. At 2:30 he texts me saying this is stupid, I go. I stayed at the inlet moving all over the place, all I caught was another big stingray, I like to never got it to the boat but after 30 minutes of fighting it I was able to get it up and remove the hook.

I left the inlet around 3 o'clock and went to Judahs Island, I was surprised when I skipped a pompano. I anchored and before I could get all my rods out another one skipped. All I caught was catfish and another stingray but this one was not very big.

IMG_20191112_154131.jpg

I left Judahs Island and went to Mays Island and skipped one, threw all my rods out and caught catfish and the pickers (bait thieves) were bad. I said I have had enough and headed for the ramp. I skipped one on Semblers Island and said screw you!!! and kept going to the ramp. It was late when I got to the ramp the sun was setting.

IMG_20191112_170405.jpg

I pull up to the boat ramp dock and someone had backed their vehicle down the middle of the ramp and was washing his coolers. I thought to myself he will be done by the time I get my truck. I drive up to back down the ramp and he is on the south dock looking at the birds, he just left his truck on the ramp. I backed down the south side, hoping the boat sitting there was not in a hurry to pull out.

IMG_20191112_171149.jpg

Sort:  

You have used the Hashtag #[CC] and can now reward 42.0 comments under your post with one CC.

More information about the Commentcoin-Project can be found on this account.
Thanks for using it.

Happy comments.
Your CC-Team:
@kristall97 ([Code-Designer])
@alucian ([Project-Designer])

Your post has been curated by the bitcoin myk project. Tokens are available for this account you can trade for steem at: https://steem-engine.com/. Join our curation priority list to earn more tokens by registering at:

https://www.bitcoinmyk.com/register/

Bitcoin MYK 15

@ davedickeyyall I am not sure how to use tokens but thank you.

What a gorgeous Island it is. Nice use of vocabulary and did you eat that fish?

@whatsthatcryptom Thank you for the kind words. No, I did not eat it. It is swimming around in the river still wondering what happened to him, after being hooked and being pulled all around, lifted out of the water then unhooked and back to swimming free. lol

Who’d be a fisherman? So many days when you get nothing at all.
I’ve never been a lover of eating greens, so I throw them all in the juicer and get them down me that way.

It’s the Wednesday prompt delivery team here with the tasty challenge for today:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-754-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-lentil-soup

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

@ deirdyweirdy catching nothing is part of fishing, we still can make a living at it. Thank you for the prompt, I am not a fan of lentil soup.

I wonder what collard looks like. Google says it is "boerenkool" but I doubt that translation is right. I will google it for a photo.

You are a stubborn fisher and the fish know and gave up. Happy day. 👍💕

Posted using Partiko Android

@wakeupkitty collards are like spinach without the crinkled leaves they are big flat leaves.

@myjob ours (the translation is "boerenkool") have crincled leaves at the sides. I loved it we eat it with mashed potaties. It is a winter dish. They say you have to harvest it after the first night frost. If you have a photo please. 💕

@wakeupkitty this is what collards look like, I do not have any growing so I got this picture from a google search. My Dad never took the stems off when he cooked them but I do, I think they are tough.

@wakeupkitty I googled to see if they are the same, it says boerenkool is what we call kale so no they are different types of greens

@myjob The boerenkool (farmers cabbage) look different but it would not surprise me if ours are related to this. I will see for a photo. Thank you for showing. I wish you a great day. 💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67706.36
ETH 2616.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72