Day 737: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: step out of the shadow

in #freewrite4 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Sunday prompt step out of the shadow hosted by @mariannewest

Step out of the shadow is going to be my new word for not catching much, the fish are hiding in the shadows and it would be nice if they would step out of the shadow where I can catch them. My husband came home early and did not catch anything. I stayed but had a hell of a day.

I put my boat in up the creek and stopped at cat island, I caught nothing there. Then I went to long point, I anchored twice there for nothing, I went to Pepper Cove anchored once again nothing. Then I took off to Mullet Creek flat and anchored. I was there maybe 10 minutes and caught a double, that is two pompano on one rod. Thirty dollars worth of fish, I was happy.

IMG_20191027_114133.jpg

Then I caught a permit

IMG_20191027_114136.jpg

I thought this is a good start, which I should know better than to think that because it will come around and bite you, which it did. I got the next pompano right to the side of the boat and it took off and went under my boat, I am not sure it my line got on the motor prop or it got cut on the gunnel of the boat but my line broke and I lost it. Next all I could catch is permits. I did catch one more pompano on that anchoring.

I moved and caught nothing but catfish. So I moved again and had a pompano on, I got it within 15 feet of the boat and it got off. Then one of my stern rods doubled over and drag went to running out, and the butt of my rod broke and my rod was gone, whatever was on it yanked it overboard. I threw one of my other rods in the direction my rod went and reeled it in, I did not get it. I did this only three times and I caught my line, I am happy. This is/was my most favorite rod, I have been fishing with it since the 1980s.

IMG_20191027_131610.jpg

I pulled all the line in and got my rod back

IMG_20191027_131748.jpg

After that fiasco, I caught another pompano. Then my other back rod doubled over and the drag was whizzing out. It was a shark. I got it to the boat four times and every time it would take off again. I finally got it to the side of the boat and tried to lift it by grabbing my rig. When I did this it took off and the top hook went into my ring finger. I got it lifted in the boat and the damn thing was jumping all around pulling on the hook that was in me, it is a good thing I have boney fingers because I could feel the point hitting my bone and I think that kept it from burying past the barb, it was close but I could pull it out.

IMG_20191027_141645.jpg

On my way back to the boat ramp I saw this big piece of foam floating on the river, how can this fly out of your boat and you do not see it, I know there were many boats that went by it but none would stop and pick it up.

IMG_20191027_164620.jpg

Sort:  

You are absolutely amazing, @myjob! Great story and pics of such a crazy day. Shark wrangler???? Do people eat those?

I hope your finger is okay! What a crazy day! I think you explained this before, but I don't remember: what is the difference between a pompano and a permit?

What a day you had! I hope your finger is okay. 💕

@redheadpei thank you for asking, it is sore but will heal, I have a nice size hole but my ring covers it. I do not tell my husband when I do dumb shit like that, he likes to lecture me on being more careful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63425.40
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88