Day 735: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: bundling

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Friday prompt bundling hosted by @mariannewest

I thought I knew the meaning of the word bundling but was not 100% sure, so I googled it and was surprised to find that historically it means " Bundling, or tarrying, is the traditional practice of wrapping two people in a bed together, usually as a part of courting behavior. ... When used for courtship, the aim is to allow intimacy without sexual intercourse." I copied that from my google search. That was not what I thought it meant.

My thinking of bundling was what we did a few years ago. We applied for a nursery license to grow plants and sell to the public but we needed something to get the people to stop and look at the plants so we bundled a plant sale with a yard sale, my husband called the yard sale "chum" he said the yard sale made them stop and once they were here they would look at our plants and in the end buy them. We got many compliments on how our plants did, they would tell us the plants they bought from the big stores would die and ours did not. Plus we were cheaper. Most of the plants you buy from these stores are genetically grown, they are cloned and do not see soil until they are to be sold or real sunlight.

It still amazes me how we got started with the plants, it is like someone was telling us to do this. I went to the dump and someone had set a bunch of flower pots by the wall and I felt like I should take them. Later that week I drove by an old plant nursery that was closed but had plants, live and dead in pots and other nursery related things. I told my husband about it and told him I was going to try and find the owner. I went to the property appraiser web site and found the owner, I do not recall how I got his phone number but I gave him a call and he said he was renting the land to someone and when they closed they left all the nursery items and he needed to get rid of them. He told me I could take it all, he said that would be a great help to him. That is how we got started growing plants to sell.

We did this for about 10 years until it got to be too much on me. We did not have the sales at our house because our driveway is only wide enough for one car at a time and we did not have parking for several cars, so we would load up all the plants and yard sale things, take them to my Moms or my sister-n-laws house and set it all up for a 3 day sale then have to load everything back up to take home. Now, all we grow is areca palms and my husband hauls them to a nursery that sells them for us.

Me standing by areca palms

1105151422-01.jpg

Sort:  

That is so interesting how you got started with the plants. Things do appear for you! I love it!!

@mariannewest yes, I do believe that they are blessings. And me listening to my gut feeling to do something.

what a great real life story!!!

Thank you for sharing it. Yes, it was meant to be!!!

@snook you're welcome, I too, think it was meant to be. It was a blessing.

I have to check it in the dictionary too.

Nice read.
Am here to deliver the weekend freewrite prompt

For single prompt
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-10-26-2019-single-prompt-option
...
...
For multiple prompt
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-10-26-2019-part-1-the-first-sentence
...
Do have a nice weekend

@botefarm thank you for the prompt. Good to hear I am not alone. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57930.87
ETH 2362.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36