Day 719: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: dachshund

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Wednesday prompt dachshund by @mariannewest

I know we are not the only ones this has happened to. How many of you have had your grown child move back in with their pet then they move out and leave the pet? This is what our youngest did. When Hurricane Floyd was to hit my Mother went to her sisters in Alabama. One of my sisters and my youngest daughter went with her and none of them came back to Fl. They were up there for 4 or 5 years. Our daughter moved back to FL and back in with us but she was not alone she had a dachshund named Dobie. She told me he kept showing up at the house she was renting in Alabama. She found out who owned him and would take him back and he would show back up at her house, the owner lived 5 miles away. One day she was talking to someone about Dobie and she was told the owner abused him, the guy would blow pot and meth in Dobie's face and Dobie would pee in the house and the guy would throw him against the wall. After hearing this she never took him back to the abuser, she kept him.

DSC01455.JPG

She lived with us for a couple of years then she moved in with her boyfriend but said she could not take Dobie could she leave him with us, by this time we were attached to the little fellow but wanted her to take him. We told her he could stay with us. I think we had him 8 years and she told me she was going to take him, I said oh no your not. We had had him all these years he is old and used to us and our other animals and I was not going to let her uproot him. He was not a little dachshund he was husky or fat not sure which.

DSC01469.JPG

He got into my fishing bag and chewed up the instructions for my fish finder, I was pissed but the look on his face made me grab the camera and take his picture. I think he knew he did wrong.

DSC02337.JPG

Sort:  

What a crappy guy that was. How funny that my daughter brought one home, too. Her daughter's Bobo is what I shared about. Dobie looks so cute and I'm happy he fit in.

Posted using Partiko Android

@wandrnrose He was loved and well cared for, something I am sure he never had with the animal abuser, all my animals got along 2 cats 2 dogs 5 turkeys and 6 chickens they all were like family to each other.

My brother used to call them "residual pets." He left behind a cat with our parents, one of my sisters left behind a cat, and I left behind a cat and a dog. Each of my daughters has left a cat with us when they moved out. I'm glad Dobie ended up with a good home with you.

@scribblingramma I like that "residual pets" you know what I am saying, once you leave your pet with someone for months and years it is now their pet, you can not come in and take it. He did have a good home. But he is the one I ran over and my husband had to put him down. I am shaking just writing those words.

Oh no!! That is so sad. I am sorry.

@scribblingramma thank you, I think it is one of those things you never get over but I try to live with it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61129.70
ETH 2660.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55